Best Woodworking Programs in Front Royal, Virginia (2026)

The best woodworking programs near Front Royal, Virginia pair focused training with a state median wage of about $45,910 a year for cabinetmakers and bench carpenters (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most students finish a 6-to-24-month woodworking or cabinetmaking program or learn on the job in a cabinet shop; CNC skills increasingly set candidates apart.

Woodworkers and cabinetmakers build cabinets, furniture, millwork, and wood products using hand tools, machinery, and increasingly CNC equipment. Training typically covers joinery, machining, finishing, blueprint reading, and shop safety.

Key Facts

  • Virginia median wage: $45,910/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Job outlook: -1.6% with ~8,100 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • Virginia employment: 2,170 cabinetmakers and bench carpenters (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Virginia location quotient: 1.06 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Typical program length: 6-12 months (certificate) to 2 years (associate) (Source: IPEDS, 2024)

Woodworking Schools near Front Royal

Compare woodworking schools near Front Royal

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from Front Royal, Virginia.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
167.0Contact school for pricing$57,788Not reported127 mi
260.6Contact school for pricing$42,844Not reportedYes*244 mi
360.0$5,683 - $13,963$52,63730%Yes*194 mi
459.5Contact school for pricing$42,51068%225 mi
555.5Contact school for pricing$42,52772%110 mi
644.8Contact school for pricingNot reported70%158 mi
744.3Contact school for pricing$44,764Not reportedYes*219 mi
8Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported182 mi

Schools closest to Front Royal, Virginia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from Front Royal, Virginia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 8 schools within 244 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 8 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#2

Central Carolina Community College

Sanford, NC 244.5 miles away BOC Score 60.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 65
  • Annual completions: 1072
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,844 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Bucks County Community College

Newtown, PA 193.9 miles away BOC Score 60.0
Tuition $5,683 - $13,963
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 30.3%
  • Programs offered: 48
  • Annual completions: 308
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,637 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Ocean County Vocational-Technical School

Toms River, NJ 225.2 miles away BOC Score 59.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 67.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 38
  • Annual completions: 461
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,510 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Greater Altoona Career & Technology Center

Altoona, PA 109.9 miles away BOC Score 55.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 71.5%
  • Programs offered: 32
  • Annual completions: 200
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,527 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Hocking College

Nelsonville, OH 219.2 miles away BOC Score 44.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 41
  • Annual completions: 372
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,764 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Woodworking Programs in Front Royal, Virginia (2026)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Woodworking Programs in Front Royal, Virginia (2026) (College Scorecard)Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology $57788; Bucks County Community College $52637; Hocking College $44764; Central Carolina Community College $42844; Greater Altoona Career & Technology Center $42527; Ocean County Vocational-Technical School $42510.Thaddeus Stevens College of ...$57,788Bucks County Community College$52,637Hocking College$44,764Central Carolina Community C...$42,844Greater Altoona Career & Tec...$42,527Ocean County Vocational-Tech...$42,510
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Woodworking Programs in Front Royal, Virginia (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology$57,788
Bucks County Community College$52,637
Hocking College$44,764
Central Carolina Community College$42,844
Greater Altoona Career & Technology Center$42,527
Ocean County Vocational-Technical School$42,510

Woodworking Pay and Job Outlook

Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $35650, P25 $38830, P50 $46680, P75 $55760, P90 $63720.10th$35,65025th$38,83050th (median)$46,68075th$55,76090th$63,720
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$35,650
25th$38,830
50th (median)$46,680
75th$55,760
90th$63,720
Projected employment growth, United States, Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters, 2024-2034
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 86000; 2034 projected employment 84700; percent change -1.6%.202486,000 jobs2034 (proj.)84,700 jobsChange: -1.6%
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
202486,000
2034 projected84,700
Percent change-1.6%

Virginia Woodworking Quick Facts

Woodworker Salary in U.S.

Median Salary $45,327 $21.79/hr
Average Salary $46,660 $22.43/hr

Salary Range

$35,650 10th pctl
$45,327 Median
$63,720 90th pctl
10th Percentile $35,650 $17.14/hr
25th Percentile $38,830 $18.67/hr
75th Percentile $55,760 $26.81/hr
90th Percentile $63,720 $30.64/hr

Employment & Outlook

Total Employed118,020
Growth (2024-2034)-1.2%
Annual Openings12,900
Jobs per 1,0000.5

Cabinetmakers and Bench Carpenters (51-7011) • BLS OEWS, May 2025 • bls.gov/oes

How to Start a Woodworking Career in Virginia

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Shop classes, math, and blueprint reading are useful preparation.

  2. Complete woodworking training. Certificate and diploma programs typically cover joinery, machining, finishing, and safety; on-the-job learning in a shop is the traditional alternative.

  3. Build shop experience. Production work builds the speed, precision, and material knowledge the trade depends on.

  4. Add CNC and modern production skills. CNC programming and operation skills are increasingly valuable in cabinet and furniture manufacturing.

  5. Advance in the trade. Experienced woodworkers may move into lead, estimating, custom work, or their own shop.

No. No state licenses woodworkers or cabinetmakers. Employers value demonstrated shop skills, safety training, and experience with CNC and modern production equipment.

Pathways into the Field

Common entry paths are a woodworking certificate program, on-the-job training in a cabinet or millwork shop, or production roles in wood product manufacturing that grow into skilled bench work.

What You Study

  • Joinery and cabinet construction
  • Woodworking machinery and shop safety
  • Finishing techniques
  • Blueprint reading and shop math
  • CNC fundamentals

Tips for Choosing a Woodworking Program

  • Confirm accreditation and how recognized the credential is with employers.
  • Look for hands-on training in shop time, CNC equipment access, and portfolio pieces.
  • Compare flexible schedules (day/evening/online) that match your availability.
  • Ask about job-search support with local employers.
  • Review certification-prep resources and post-completion support.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does woodworking training take near Front Royal?

Woodworking and cabinetmaking certificate programs typically run 6 months to 2 years. Many woodworkers instead learn on the job in cabinet shops and manufacturing plants, building skill over 1 to 3 years of supervised work.

How much do cabinetmakers and bench carpenters earn in Virginia?

According to BLS OEWS (May 2025), cabinetmakers and bench carpenters in Virginia earned a median annual wage of about $45,910. Pay varies with experience, employer, and specialization. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $33,280 to $63,800 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

How many woodworking schools are near Front Royal?

The schools listed above are within driving distance of Front Royal. Compare them by tuition, program length, BOC Score, and the credential each one awards.

Do woodworkers need a license?

No. No state licenses woodworkers or cabinetmakers. Employers value demonstrated shop skills, safety training, and experience with CNC and modern production equipment.

In Virginia

Next Steps


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)