Best Translator Programs in Norfolk, Virginia (2026)

The best translator programs near Norfolk, Virginia pair focused training with a state median wage of about $63,030 a year for interpreters and translators (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most students combine existing fluency with a 6-to-24-month translation certificate or degree program; the voluntary ATA certification exam can come later, per language pair.

Translators convert written material between languages; interpreters handle spoken and signed communication. Training typically covers professional technique, ethics, specialty terminology, and the computer-assisted translation (CAT) tools the industry runs on.

Key Facts

  • Virginia median wage: $63,030/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Job outlook: +1.7% with ~6,900 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • Virginia employment: 1,630 interpreters and translators (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Virginia location quotient: 1.19 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Typical program length: 6-12 months (certificate) to 2 years (associate) (Source: IPEDS, 2024)

Translator Schools near Norfolk

Compare translator schools near Norfolk

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from Norfolk, Virginia.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
164.4$2,756 - $11,230$48,14432%Yes*150 mi
252.7Contact school for pricing$51,493Not reportedYes*102 mi
352.1Contact school for pricing$48,262Not reportedYes*122 mi
450.9Contact school for pricing$41,411Not reportedYes*181 mi
549.8Contact school for pricing$57,86840%Yes*159 mi
640.5Contact school for pricing$43,41055%177 mi

Schools closest to Norfolk, Virginia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from Norfolk, Virginia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 8 schools within 181 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 8 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

American University

Washington, DC 148.3 miles away BOC Score 71.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 13
  • Annual completions: 373
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $79,081 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Virginia Commonwealth University

Richmond, VA 79.8 miles away BOC Score 65.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 64.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 1386
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $64,703 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Johnston Community College

Smithfield, NC 150.5 miles away BOC Score 64.4
Tuition $2,756 - $11,230
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 32.1%
  • Programs offered: 39
  • Annual completions: 1647
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,144 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Beaufort County Community College

Washington, NC 101.9 miles away BOC Score 52.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 21
  • Annual completions: 729
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $51,493 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Wilson Community College

Wilson, NC 121.5 miles away BOC Score 52.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 25
  • Annual completions: 305
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $48,262 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Alamance Community College

Graham, NC 181.4 miles away BOC Score 50.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 42
  • Annual completions: 1011
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $41,411 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Durham Technical Community College

Durham, NC 158.9 miles away BOC Score 49.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 39.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 39
  • Annual completions: 578
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $57,868 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Sampson Community College

Clinton, NC 176.6 miles away BOC Score 40.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 54.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 35
  • Annual completions: 662
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $43,410 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Translator Programs in Norfolk, Virginia (2026)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Translator Programs in Norfolk, Virginia (2026) (College Scorecard)Durham Technical Community College $57868; Beaufort County Community College $51493; Wilson Community College $48262; Johnston Community College $48144; Sampson Community College $43410; Alamance Community College $41411.Durham Technical Community C...$57,868Beaufort County Community Co...$51,493Wilson Community College$48,262Johnston Community College$48,144Sampson Community College$43,410Alamance Community College$41,411
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Translator Programs in Norfolk, Virginia (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Durham Technical Community College$57,868
Beaufort County Community College$51,493
Wilson Community College$48,262
Johnston Community College$48,144
Sampson Community College$43,410
Alamance Community College$41,411

Translator Pay and Job Outlook

Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Interpreters and Translators
Interpreters and Translators annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $37070, P25 $46530, P50 $60170, P75 $80830, P90 $103660.10th$37,07025th$46,53050th (median)$60,17075th$80,83090th$103,660
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Interpreters and Translators annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$37,070
25th$46,530
50th (median)$60,170
75th$80,830
90th$103,660
Projected employment growth, United States, Interpreters and Translators, 2024-2034
Interpreters and Translators employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 75300; 2034 projected employment 76600; percent change +1.7%.202475,300 jobs2034 (proj.)76,600 jobsChange: +1.7%
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Interpreters and Translators employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
202475,300
2034 projected76,600
Percent change+1.7%

Virginia Translator Quick Facts

Translator-Professional Salary in U.S.

Median Salary $60,170 $28.93/hr
Average Salary $66,360 $31.90/hr

Salary Range

$37,070 10th pctl
$60,170 Median
$103,660 90th pctl
10th Percentile $37,070 $17.82/hr
25th Percentile $46,530 $22.37/hr
75th Percentile $80,830 $38.86/hr
90th Percentile $103,660 $49.84/hr

Employment & Outlook

Total Employed52,060
Growth (2024-2034)1.7%
Annual Openings6,900
Jobs per 1,0000.3

Interpreters and Translators (27-3091) • BLS OEWS, May 2025 • bls.gov/oes

How to Start a Translator Career in Virginia

  1. Reach professional fluency in two or more languages. Fluency comes from education, immersion, or bilingual upbringing and is the prerequisite for professional training.

  2. Complete translation or interpreting training. Certificate and degree programs typically teach technique, ethics, terminology, and CAT tools.

  3. Pick a specialty. Medical, legal, technical, and literary work each have distinct vocabulary and standards; specialists typically out-earn generalists.

  4. Consider ATA certification. The American Translators Association exam is the field’s most recognized voluntary credential for written translation.

  5. Build a client base or staff role. Translators commonly combine agency work, direct clients, and staff positions; portfolio and specialty drive rates.

No general license is required to work as a translator. The American Translators Association (ATA) offers a respected voluntary certification exam per language pair. Court and medical interpreting have their own credentialing paths that vary by state and employer - confirm what your target setting expects.

Pathways into the Field

Common entry paths are a translation certificate on top of existing fluency, a languages degree, or in-house bilingual roles that grow into translation work. Court and medical interpreting have their own credential tracks.

What You Study

  • Translation technique and professional ethics
  • Specialty terminology (medical, legal, technical)
  • CAT tools and translation memory software
  • Localization and cultural adaptation
  • Portfolio and business practices

Tips for Choosing a Translator Program

  • Confirm accreditation and how recognized the credential is with employers.
  • Look for hands-on training in language-pair coverage, CAT tool training, and specialty tracks.
  • Compare flexible schedules (day/evening/online) that match your availability.
  • Ask about job-search support with local employers.
  • Review certification-prep resources and post-completion support.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does translator training take near Norfolk?

Beyond language fluency itself, translation and interpreting certificate programs typically run 6 months to 2 years. A bachelor's degree is the typical credential BLS reports for the occupation, though skill and portfolio matter most in practice.

How much do interpreters and translators earn in Virginia?

According to BLS OEWS (May 2025), interpreters and translators in Virginia earned a median annual wage of about $63,030. Pay varies with experience, employer, and specialization. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $43,160 to $123,490 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

How many translator schools are near Norfolk?

The schools listed above are within driving distance of Norfolk. Compare them by tuition, program length, BOC Score, and the credential each one awards.

Do translators need a license?

No general license is required to work as a translator. The American Translators Association (ATA) offers a respected voluntary certification exam per language pair. Court and medical interpreting have their own credentialing paths that vary by state and employer - confirm what your target setting expects.

In Virginia

Next Steps


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)