Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Norton, Virginia (2026)

The best patient access representative programs near Norton, Virginia pair focused training with a state median wage of about $37,060 a year for patient access representatives (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most students finish a 3-to-9-month patient access or medical office certificate, or start directly with employer training; the voluntary NAHAM CHAA credential can come with experience.

Patient access representatives register patients, verify insurance coverage, schedule appointments, and manage front-desk operations in hospitals and clinics. Training typically covers insurance verification, scheduling systems, medical terminology, and HIPAA.

Key Facts

  • Virginia median wage: $37,060/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Job outlook: +0% with ~128,500 openings/yr (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034)
  • Virginia employment: 23,360 patient access representatives (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Virginia location quotient: 0.97 (Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025)
  • Typical program length: 6-12 months (certificate) to 2 years (associate) (Source: IPEDS, 2024)

Patient Access Representative Schools near Norton

Compare patient access representative schools near Norton

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from Norton, Virginia.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
157.1Contact school for pricing$33,01869%Yes*113 mi
251.5Contact school for pricingNot reported94%180 mi
351.3Contact school for pricing$44,75435%Yes*191 mi
450.7Contact school for pricing$59,23518%Yes*185 mi
549.8Contact school for pricing$47,265Not reportedYes*168 mi
647.1Contact school for pricing$42,517Not reported100 mi
737.4Contact school for pricing$29,537Not reported107 mi

Schools closest to Norton, Virginia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from Norton, Virginia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 8 schools within 192 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 8 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

West Virginia Junior College-Charleston

Cross Lanes, WV 112.7 miles away BOC Score 57.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
  • 5514 Big Tyler Road Suite 200 Cross Lanes, WV 25313-1304
  • (304) 769-0011
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 68.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 7
  • Annual completions: 52
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,018 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Lanier Technical College

Gainesville, GA 191.0 miles away BOC Score 51.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 35.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 106
  • Annual completions: 3421
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $44,754 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Cincinnati State Technical and Community College

Cincinnati, OH 185.3 miles away BOC Score 50.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 18.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 72
  • Annual completions: 1354
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $59,235 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

North Georgia Technical College

Clarkesville, GA 168.0 miles away BOC Score 49.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 73
  • Annual completions: 2045
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,265 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Medical Career & Technical College

Richmond, KY 106.9 miles away BOC Score 37.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 7
  • Annual completions: 189
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $29,537 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Liberty University

Lynchburg, VA 192.0 miles away BOC Score 35.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 64.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 28
  • Annual completions: 4191
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $57,700 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Norton, Virginia (2026)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Norton, Virginia (2026) (College Scorecard)Cincinnati State Technical and Community College $59235; North Georgia Technical College $47265; Lanier Technical College $44754; Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville $42517; West Virginia Junior College-Charleston $33018; Medical Career & Technical College $29537.Cincinnati State Technical a...$59,235North Georgia Technical Coll...$47,265Lanier Technical College$44,754Tennessee College of Applied...$42,517West Virginia Junior College...$33,018Medical Career & Technical C...$29,537
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Patient Access Representative Programs in Norton, Virginia (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Cincinnati State Technical and Community College$59,235
North Georgia Technical College$47,265
Lanier Technical College$44,754
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Knoxville$42,517
West Virginia Junior College-Charleston$33,018
Medical Career & Technical College$29,537

Patient Access Representative Pay and Job Outlook

Annual Wage by Percentile, United States - Receptionists and Information Clerks
Receptionists and Information Clerks annual wage percentiles, BLS OEWS May 2025P10 $28760, P25 $33960, P50 $38010, P75 $45130, P90 $49950.10th$28,76025th$33,96050th (median)$38,01075th$45,13090th$49,950
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
Receptionists and Information Clerks annual wage percentiles
PercentileAnnual wage
10th$28,760
25th$33,960
50th (median)$38,010
75th$45,130
90th$49,950
Projected employment growth, United States, Receptionists and Information Clerks, 2024-2034
Receptionists and Information Clerks employment 2024 vs 2034 projection, BLS Employment Projections2024 employment 1.0072e+06; 2034 projected employment 1.0076e+06.20241,007,200 jobs2034 (proj.)1,007,600 jobs
Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034
Receptionists and Information Clerks employment projection 2024 to 2034
YearEmployment
20241,007,200
2034 projected1,007,600

Virginia Patient Access Representative Quick Facts

Patient-Access-Representative Salary in U.S.

Median Salary $38,010 $18.27/hr
Average Salary $39,460 $18.97/hr

Salary Range

$28,760 10th pctl
$38,010 Median
$49,950 90th pctl
10th Percentile $28,760 $13.83/hr
25th Percentile $33,960 $16.33/hr
75th Percentile $45,130 $21.70/hr
90th Percentile $49,950 $24.01/hr

Employment & Outlook

Total Employed910,180
Growth (2024-2034)0.0%
Annual Openings128,500
Jobs per 1,0005.9

Receptionists and Information Clerks (43-4171) • BLS OEWS, May 2025 • bls.gov/oes

How to Start a Patient Access Representative Career in Virginia

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Customer service and office experience are helpful.

  2. Complete patient access or medical office training. Short certificate programs typically cover insurance verification, scheduling, terminology, and privacy rules (HIPAA).

  3. Learn your employer’s systems. Health systems provide paid on-the-job training in their registration and EHR software.

  4. Consider the NAHAM CHAA credential. The Certified Healthcare Access Associate is a voluntary mark of competence in the field.

  5. Advance in the revenue cycle. Experienced representatives may move into lead, supervisor, financial counseling, or billing roles.

No. No license is required to work in patient access. The National Association of Healthcare Access Management (NAHAM) offers the voluntary Certified Healthcare Access Associate (CHAA) credential, which some employers value.

Pathways into the Field

Common entry paths are direct hire with employer training, a short patient access or medical office certificate, or transfer from another customer service role. Skills transfer across every part of the healthcare industry.

What You Study

  • Patient registration and check-in workflows
  • Insurance verification and authorizations
  • Scheduling and EHR systems
  • Medical terminology basics
  • HIPAA and patient privacy

Tips for Choosing a Patient Access Representative Program

  • Confirm accreditation and how recognized the credential is with employers.
  • Look for hands-on training in EHR system exposure, externship placement, and employer partnerships.
  • Compare flexible schedules (day/evening/online) that match your availability.
  • Ask about job-search support with local employers.
  • Review certification-prep resources and post-completion support.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does patient access representative training take near Norton?

Certificate programs in patient access and medical front office work typically run 3 to 9 months. Many representatives instead start with a high school diploma and paid on-the-job training in their employer's registration systems.

How much do patient access representatives earn in Virginia?

According to BLS OEWS (May 2025), patient access representatives in Virginia earned a median annual wage of about $37,060. Pay varies with experience, employer, and specialization. The 10th-to-90th percentile range was about $28,800 to $47,220 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

How many patient access representative schools are near Norton?

The schools listed above are within driving distance of Norton. Compare them by tuition, program length, BOC Score, and the credential each one awards.

Do patient access representatives need a license?

No. No license is required to work in patient access. The National Association of Healthcare Access Management (NAHAM) offers the voluntary Certified Healthcare Access Associate (CHAA) credential, which some employers value.

In Virginia

Next Steps


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)