Best Trade Schools in Poquoson, Virginia (2026)

Start here to compare accredited trade schools near Poquoson. This guide links to programs, state licensing steps, and related career paths so you can get job-ready quickly in Virginia.


How to Get Started in Poquoson

  • Compare schools and program lengths above
  • Check your state licensing steps: Virginia
  • Explore careers: Skilled trades hub
  • Ask each school about tuition, schedules, and embedded certifications (EPA 608, NCCER, ASE)

Compare Trade Schools Near Poquoson, Virginia

We could not confirm enough colleges teaching this subject within range of this location, so the list below shows nearby institutions instead. Confirm with each school that it offers the program before you apply.

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 17 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 9 of them carry a score. 1 does not have enough federal outcome data to score, and appears last rather than being hidden.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Riverside College of Health Careers

Newport News, VA 8.6 miles away BOC Score 67.6
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 10
  • Annual completions: 108
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $67,735 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Hampton University

Hampton, VA 7.6 miles away BOC Score 55.9
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 56.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 13
  • Annual completions: 122
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $61,865 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk

Norfolk, VA 16.8 miles away BOC Score 41.0
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 54.4% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 3
  • Annual completions: 184
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $66,491 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Virginia Peninsula Community College

Hampton, VA 5.8 miles away BOC Score 39.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 34.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 38
  • Annual completions: 410
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,856 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Centura College-Newport News

Newport News, VA 8.9 miles away BOC Score 36.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 7
  • Annual completions: 521
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $37,316 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Empire Beauty School-Newport News

Newport News, VA 8.2 miles away BOC Score 15.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 41.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 2
  • Annual completions: 44
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $27,559 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Luckes Beauty Academy LLC

Newport News, VA 6.5 miles away
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
  • 888 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard Newport News, VA 23601-1303
  • (757) 599-0534
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 2
  • Annual completions: 12
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $15,102 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Asher Institute of Hampton

Hampton, VA 8.2 miles away
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 46.0% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 4
  • Annual completions: 75
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $21,925 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Virginia.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
167.6Contact school for pricing$67,735Not reportedYes*9 mi
241.0Contact school for pricing$66,49154%17 mi
339.2Contact school for pricing$47,85634%Yes*6 mi
436.3Contact school for pricing$37,316Not reported9 mi
527.1Contact school for pricingNot reported46%10 mi
615.8Contact school for pricing$27,55942%8 mi
7Not ratedContact school for pricing$15,102Not reported6 mi
8Not ratedContact school for pricing$21,92546%8 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Virginia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Virginia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings by School - Best Trade Schools in Poquoson, Virginia (2026)
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Trade Schools in Poquoson, Virginia (2026) (College Scorecard)Riverside College of Health Careers $67735; Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk $66491; Virginia Peninsula Community College $47856; Centura College-Newport News $37316; Empire Beauty School-Newport News $27559; Asher Institute of Hampton $21925.Riverside College of Health ...$67,735Aviation Institute of Mainte...$66,491Virginia Peninsula Community...$47,856Centura College-Newport News$37,316Empire Beauty School-Newport...$27,559Asher Institute of Hampton$21,925
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Trade Schools in Poquoson, Virginia (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Riverside College of Health Careers$67,735
Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Norfolk$66,491
Virginia Peninsula Community College$47,856
Centura College-Newport News$37,316
Empire Beauty School-Newport News$27,559
Asher Institute of Hampton$21,925

Virginia Trade Career Outlook

Building & Construction Trades

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Plumber4.5%
Welder2.2%
Carpenter4.5%
Flooring Installer9.5%
Construction Worker7.3%

Construction Management & Inspection

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Construction Manager8.7%
Home Inspector-0.8%

Electrical & Energy Systems

Mechanical, Automotive & Transportation

Healthcare: Administration & Office Support

Therapy, Rehab & Fitness

Animal Care & Training

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Dog Trainer5.1%
Veterinary Technician9.1%
Veterinary Assistant8.7%

Beauty & Personal Care

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Esthetician6.7%
Beauty Professional5.6%
Cosmetologist5.6%

Culinary & Hospitality Careers

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Culinary Chef7.1%
Pastry Chef7.1%

Business & Legal Support

TradeJob Growth (2024-2034, US)
Paralegal0.2%
Digital Court Reporter-0.3%
Bookkeeper-5.8%

Job growth uses state projections when available and national projections (BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034) when state data is unavailable. Median pay for each trade is shown in the comparison table above.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections (2024-2034). Projected U.S. change shown for each trade.


Next Steps


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)