Best Electrician Schools in Washington

Compare accredited Electrician schools across Washington below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Electrician Schools in Washington

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 94 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

University of Washington-Seattle Campus

Seattle, WA 3.6 miles away BOC Score 89.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 84.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 36
  • Annual completions: 1651
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $82,515 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Grays Harbor College

Aberdeen, WA 82.3 miles away BOC Score 71.6
Tuition $5,593 - $15,708
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 35.3%
  • Programs offered: 40
  • Annual completions: 242
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $46,936 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Lake Washington Institute of Technology

Kirkland, WA 10.3 miles away BOC Score 68.9
Tuition $5,997 - $16,339
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 38.3%
  • Programs offered: 53
  • Annual completions: 878
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $55,891 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Edmonds College

Lynnwood, WA 14.5 miles away BOC Score 67.5
Tuition $4,810 - $20,062
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 31.1%
  • Programs offered: 69
  • Annual completions: 883
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,875 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Central Washington University

Ellensburg, WA 93.8 miles away BOC Score 60.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 51.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 22
  • Annual completions: 726
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $63,444 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

Olympic College

Bremerton, WA 14.3 miles away BOC Score 60.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 32.6% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 58
  • Annual completions: 1182
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $57,634 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Centralia College

Centralia, WA 68.2 miles away BOC Score 56.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 43.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 44
  • Annual completions: 572
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,981 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

North Seattle College

Seattle, WA 6.4 miles away BOC Score 48.3
Tuition $5,238 - $18,943
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 32.6%
  • Programs offered: 31
  • Annual completions: 202
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $70,090 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Electrician Schools in Washington

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Washington.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.6$5,593 - $15,708$46,93635%Yes*82 mi
269.4Contact school for pricingNot reported44%Yes*81 mi
368.9$5,997 - $16,339$55,89138%Yes*10 mi
467.5$4,810 - $20,062$52,87531%Yes*14 mi
565.2$6,027 - $18,837Not reported43%Yes*25 mi
660.1Contact school for pricing$57,63433%14 mi
756.5Contact school for pricing$52,98144%68 mi
848.3$5,238 - $18,943$70,09033%6 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Washington are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Washington is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Electrician Schools in Washington
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Electrician Schools in Washington (College Scorecard)North Seattle College $70090; Olympic College $57634; Lake Washington Institute of Technology $55891; Centralia College $52981; Edmonds College $52875; Grays Harbor College $46936.North Seattle College$70,090Olympic College$57,634Lake Washington Institute of...$55,891Centralia College$52,981Edmonds College$52,875Grays Harbor College$46,936
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Electrician Schools in Washington
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
North Seattle College$70,090
Olympic College$57,634
Lake Washington Institute of Technology$55,891
Centralia College$52,981
Edmonds College$52,875
Grays Harbor College$46,936

Electrician Pay and Job Outlook

Electricians annual wage by percentile: $42,640 at the 10th percentile, $63,190 median, $108,510 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What electricians earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for electricians: 818,700 jobs in 2024 to 896,100 in 2034, +9.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for electricians
Top-paying states for electricians - Oregon leads at $101,310. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for electricians

Washington Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$95,220BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment19,380 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.12BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate5.1%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$87.78/hr ($60.0 base + $27.78 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Electrician Training in Washington

The cities below have the highest concentration of electrician training programs and population centers within Washington. Click through for school listings near each:

If you want to work as an electrician in Washington, the first step is getting the right training. The state requires formal education combined with hands‑on experience before you can get licensed. Your choice of school matters because it can set the tone for your entire career.

How Electrician Training Works in Washington

In Washington, you can’t just pick up tools and start working as an electrician. You need an electrical training certificate and you must work under a licensed electrician while also meeting classroom requirements.

To get licensed as a journey level electrician, the state requires:

  1. 8,000 hours of supervised electrical work experience.
  2. 96 hours of basic classroom education in technical subjects.

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries says:
“All trainees must be supervised 100% of the time by a journey level or specialty electrician while performing electrical work.”

This means you’ll usually work as an electrical trainee while attending trade school or an apprenticeship program.

How to Become an Electrician in Washington

Follow this process to stay in compliance:

  1. Get an Electrical Trainee Card
    Apply through the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries before you start work.

  2. Choose a Training Path
    Pick a trade school, community college, or union/non‑union apprenticeship program.

  3. Complete Required Classroom Hours
    Your school should track and report your hours to the state.

  4. Log Your On‑the‑Job Hours
    Keep accurate records. You’ll need them when applying for your license exam.

  5. Apply for the Journey Level Electrician Exam
    Once your hours and training are complete, schedule the state exam.

Union and Non‑Union Apprenticeships

Many electricians in Washington start with apprenticeships instead of college classes. Apprenticeships give you paid on‑the‑job training plus classroom instruction. In Washington, you can apply through:

  • IBEW/NECA Joint Apprenticeship & Training Committees (Union)
  • Independent Electrical Contractors (IEC) of Washington (Non‑Union)

These programs meet the state licensing requirements for both hours and education, making them a direct path to training as a journey level electrician.

Choosing the Right Training Path

When you’re comparing trade schools, think about:

  • Location and commute
  • Cost and tuition
  • Program schedule (day, evening, or weekend classes)
  • Connections to local employers
  • Pass rates for the state electrician exam

If possible, visit the campus, talk to instructors, and see the training labs. The equipment you train on should match what you’ll use in the field.

Final Tips Before You Enroll

  • Confirm state approval: Make sure the program is recognized by the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries.
  • Plan for work hours: You’ll need an employer sponsor or apprenticeship placement to log required hours.
  • Stay current on code updates: Washington follows the NEC, which changes every three years.
  • Keep paperwork organized: Missing records can delay your license application.

Summary and Next Step

Training as an electrician in Washington takes commitment, but it’s a straightforward process if you start with the right school. Focus on programs that combine solid classroom education with real jobsite experience. Once you have your hours and coursework, you can apply for your journey level exam and move forward in your career.

Here’s what to do next:

  1. Check the Washington State L&I electrician trainee requirements to make sure you understand the rules.
  2. Contact at least three schools or apprenticeship programs from the list above.
  3. Apply for your electrical trainee card.
  4. Start your training and log every hour.

The sooner you begin, the sooner you’ll be eligible to test for your license and work independently.


Electrician Wages and Workforce in Washington

In Washington, Electrician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $95,220 per year, and most earn between $52,170 and $133,950 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Washington employs roughly 19,380 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.12 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Washington include Grays Harbor College, Walla Walla Community College, and Bellingham Technical College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Electrician Training and Licensing in Washington

Licensing for Electrician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Washington licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does electrician training in Washington involve?

Electrician training in Washington is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do electricians earn in Washington?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), electricians in Washington earned a median annual wage of approximately $95,220. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $52,170 to $133,950 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Washington license or certification process for electricians?

Licensing for electricians in Washington is administered by Department of Labor and Industries. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)