Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia

Compare accredited Electrician schools across West Virginia below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 54 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 10 of them carry a score.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Fayette Institute of Technology

Oak Hill, WV 36.3 miles away BOC Score 80.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 88.9%
  • Programs offered: 5
  • Annual completions: 78
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,919 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Ben Franklin Career Center

Dunbar, WV 6.7 miles away BOC Score 71.8
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 15
  • Annual completions: 240
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $38,243 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Carver Career Center

Charleston, WV 0.1 miles away BOC Score 70.5
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 88.5% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 15
  • Annual completions: 164
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $33,190 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

Buckeye Hills Career Center

Rio Grande, OH 54.5 miles away BOC Score 70.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 85.9% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 23
  • Annual completions: 277
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $42,114 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

Collins Career Technical Center

Chesapeake, OH 45.0 miles away BOC Score 63.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 58.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 45
  • Annual completions: 390
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $51,897 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

BridgeValley Community & Technical College

South Charleston, WV 3.6 miles away BOC Score 55.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 30.3% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 59
  • Annual completions: 278
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $57,464 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

New River Community and Technical College

Beaver, WV 49.4 miles away BOC Score 42.3
Tuition $5,156 - $12,132
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 32.9%
  • Programs offered: 41
  • Annual completions: 309
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $39,109 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Mountwest Community and Technical College

Huntington, WV 44.9 miles away BOC Score 33.4
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 17.7% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 47
  • Annual completions: 309
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $45,495 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#10

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College

Logan, WV 40.5 miles away BOC Score 32.7
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 26.8% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 21
  • Annual completions: 215
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $37,021 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare Electrician Schools in West Virginia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in West Virginia.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
180.4Contact school for pricing$47,91989%36 mi
271.8Contact school for pricing$38,243Not reported7 mi
370.5Contact school for pricing$33,19088%0 mi
470.4Contact school for pricing$42,11486%54 mi
563.7Contact school for pricing$51,89758%45 mi
655.3Contact school for pricing$57,46430%Yes*4 mi
752.0Contact school for pricing$50,961Not reported40 mi
842.3$5,156 - $12,132$39,10933%Yes*49 mi
933.4Contact school for pricing$45,49518%45 mi
1032.7Contact school for pricing$37,02127%Yes*40 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in West Virginia are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in West Virginia is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at Electrician Schools in West Virginia
Median graduate earnings by school, Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia (College Scorecard)BridgeValley Community & Technical College $57464; Collins Career Technical Center $51897; Cabell County Career Technology Center $50961; Fayette Institute of Technology $47919; Mountwest Community and Technical College $45495; Buckeye Hills Career Center $42114.BridgeValley Community & Tec...$57,464Collins Career Technical Cen...$51,897Cabell County Career Technol...$50,961Fayette Institute of Technol...$47,919Mountwest Community and Tech...$45,495Buckeye Hills Career Center$42,114
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
BridgeValley Community & Technical College$57,464
Collins Career Technical Center$51,897
Cabell County Career Technology Center$50,961
Fayette Institute of Technology$47,919
Mountwest Community and Technical College$45,495
Buckeye Hills Career Center$42,114

Electrician Pay and Job Outlook

Electricians annual wage by percentile: $42,640 at the 10th percentile, $63,190 median, $108,510 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What electricians earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for electricians: 818,700 jobs in 2024 to 896,100 in 2034, +9.5% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for electricians
Top-paying states for electricians - Oregon leads at $101,310. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for electricians

West Virginia Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$64,810BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment4,290 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient1.25BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate4.7%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$62.59/hr ($42.2 base + $20.39 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for Electrician Training in West Virginia

The cities below have the highest concentration of electrician training programs and population centers within West Virginia. Click through for school listings near each:

If you want to work as an electrician in West Virginia, the first step is getting the right training. The state requires specific classroom hours and hands-on experience before you can qualify for a journeyman license. Picking the right school will set you up for success.

Below, you’ll find trusted electrician training options in West Virginia, plus an overview of the licensing process.

Electrician Licensing in West Virginia

West Virginia licenses electricians through the West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office. You can apply for several license classes, but if you’re starting out, the most common path is:

  1. Apprentice Electrician
  2. Journeyman Electrician
  3. Master Electrician

According to the West Virginia State Fire Marshal: Journeyman applicants must show 8,000 hours of practical experience or a combination of experience and approved training hours before taking the state exam.

The process usually goes like this:

  1. Enroll in an approved training program - Trade schools, community colleges, or apprenticeship programs.
  2. Log on-the-job experience - Work under a licensed electrician to earn required hours.
  3. Pass your exam - You must pass the state exam for your license level.
  4. Apply for your license - Submit your documentation and exam results to the State Fire Marshal.

For full licensing requirements, visit the official West Virginia State Fire Marshal site.

What to Look for in a West Virginia Electrician School

When picking a program, make sure it:

  • Meets West Virginia’s approved training requirements.
  • Offers both classroom and lab-based learning.
  • Has instructors with recent field and code experience.
  • Connects you with apprenticeship opportunities.
  • Includes OSHA safety certifications or similar credentials.

School facilities matter, too. Updated labs, access to current NEC editions, and partnerships with local contractors can give you an advantage.

Apprenticeship Training

If you want to work while you learn, consider an apprenticeship program. In West Virginia, some unions and trade associations offer paid apprenticeships that combine classroom instruction with supervised work hours.

Check with groups like:

  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Locals in your area.
  • Independent Electrical Contractors (IEC) chapters.

Apprenticeships typically run 4-5 years and prepare you for the journeyman exam.

How to Become a Licensed Electrician in West Virginia

Here’s a simplified path you can follow:

  1. Decide on your training route - School, apprenticeship, or a mix of both.
  2. Complete classroom hours - From an approved provider.
  3. Earn on-the-job hours - Under a licensed journeyman or master electrician.
  4. Apply for the journeyman exam - Through the State Fire Marshal.
  5. Pass the exam - Study current NEC code and state-specific rules.
  6. Receive your license - Keep it active with required renewals.

Safety and Code Knowledge

Electrical work is regulated for safety. Your training will emphasize the National Electrical Code (NEC), OSHA standards, and state-specific rules.

Reminder: You must work under proper supervision until licensed. Doing unlicensed electrical work can lead to fines and legal issues.

Taking the Next Step

If you want to start an electrical career in West Virginia, choose an approved school or apprenticeship program that fits your schedule and budget. Contact the admissions office, ask about NEC training, and confirm they prepare you for the West Virginia journeyman exam.

Once enrolled, focus on building both your classroom knowledge and your hands-on skills. This combination will help you pass your exam, get licensed, and work safely in the field.


Sources:

[1] West Virginia State Fire Marshal - Electrical Licensing Requirements: https://firemarshal.wv.gov
[2] U.S. Department of Labor - Apprenticeship Programs: https://www.dol.gov/apprenticeship
[3] National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER) - Electrical Training: https://www.nccer.org/


Electrician Wages and Workforce in West Virginia

In West Virginia, Electrician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $64,810 per year, and most earn between $43,620 and $95,140 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). West Virginia employs roughly 4,290 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 1.25 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving West Virginia include Fred W Eberle Technical Center, Fayette Institute of Technology, and James Rumsey Technical Institute. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

Electrician Training and Licensing in West Virginia

Licensing for Electrician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate West Virginia licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does electrician training in West Virginia involve?

Electrician training in West Virginia is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do electricians earn in West Virginia?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), electricians in West Virginia earned a median annual wage of approximately $64,810. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $43,620 to $95,140 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the West Virginia license or certification process for electricians?

Licensing for electricians in West Virginia is administered by West Virginia Office of Miners' Health, Safety & Training. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)