Best HVAC Schools in Wisconsin (2026)

Compare accredited HVAC Technician schools across Wisconsin below, then review pay, licensing steps, and training paths for the trade.

Sponsored - request program info.

Best HVAC Technician Schools in Wisconsin

How we rank schools – graduation rate, graduate earnings, cost and retention. Advertising plays no part.

This page lists 10 schools within 67 miles, closest group first, then ordered by BOC Score with the highest at the top. 9 of them carry a score. 1 does not have enough federal outcome data to score, and appears last rather than being hidden.

Location / proximity to this page
Defines the local group
Graduation rate how often students finish
30%
Median earnings, 10 years after entry whether it paid off
25%
Average net price what students actually pay after aid; lower ranks higher
20%
Retention rate how many come back for year two
15%
Fully online availability whether you can study while working
10%

Scores come from IPEDS (2024) and the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Earnings are for all graduates of a school, not one program, so treat them as a signal about the institution rather than about this subject. Sponsored listings are paid placements and are labelled as such; they are separate from this ranking and never change it. Read the full methodology.

#1

Moraine Park Technical College

Fond du Lac, WI 57.6 miles away BOC Score 66.9
Tuition $4,819 - $14,583
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 53.6%
  • Programs offered: 99
  • Annual completions: 2436
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $53,771 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#2

Lakeshore Technical College

Cleveland, WI 61.7 miles away BOC Score 63.9
Tuition $4,844 - $14,599
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 45.9%
  • Programs offered: 73
  • Annual completions: 978
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $50,985 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#3

Waukesha County Technical College

Pewaukee, WI 17.7 miles away BOC Score 62.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 45.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 84
  • Annual completions: 3510
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $57,764 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#4

William Rainey Harper College

Palatine, IL 66.6 miles away BOC Score 59.2
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Programs offered: 73
  • Annual completions: 2528
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,704 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#5

McHenry County College

Crystal Lake, IL 59.9 miles away BOC Score 58.3
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 38.2% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 53
  • Annual completions: 965
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $47,580 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#6

Gateway Technical College

Kenosha, WI 30.0 miles away BOC Score 56.0
Tuition $4,956 - $16,242
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 49.0%
  • Programs offered: 101
  • Annual completions: 4053
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $54,142 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#7

Milwaukee Area Technical College

Milwaukee, WI 0.7 miles away BOC Score 52.5
Tuition $5,184 - $17,359
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 24.6%
  • Programs offered: 128
  • Annual completions: 3894
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,346 (College Scorecard)
  • Online programs available

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#8

College of Lake County

Grayslake, IL 47.5 miles away BOC Score 47.4
Tuition $4,788 - $14,400
Contact
Key stats
  • Graduation rate: 37.8%
  • Programs offered: 81
  • Annual completions: 4091
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $52,821 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

#9

Blackhawk Technical College

Janesville, WI 61.6 miles away BOC Score 45.1
Tuition Contact school for pricing
Contact
Key stats
  • Completion rate: 32.1% (College Scorecard)
  • Programs offered: 66
  • Annual completions: 1207
  • Median graduate earnings, 4 yrs after completing (all majors, not a single program): $56,991 (College Scorecard)

Source: ACCSC IPEDS College Scorecard

Compare HVAC Technician Schools in Wisconsin

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the main population center in Wisconsin.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
166.9$4,819 - $14,583$53,77154%Yes*58 mi
263.9$4,844 - $14,599$50,98546%Yes*62 mi
362.3Contact school for pricing$57,76445%Yes*18 mi
459.2Contact school for pricing$56,704Not reportedYes*67 mi
558.3Contact school for pricing$47,58038%Yes*60 mi
656.0$4,956 - $16,242$54,14249%Yes*30 mi
752.5$5,184 - $17,359$52,34625%Yes*1 mi
847.4$4,788 - $14,400$52,82138%48 mi
945.1Contact school for pricing$56,99132%62 mi
10Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported64 mi

Schools closest to the main population center in Wisconsin are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the main population center in Wisconsin is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Median Graduate Earnings at HVAC Technician Schools in Wisconsin
Median graduate earnings by school, Best HVAC Schools in Wisconsin (2026) (College Scorecard)Waukesha County Technical College $57764; Blackhawk Technical College $56991; William Rainey Harper College $56704; Gateway Technical College $54142; Moraine Park Technical College $53771; College of Lake County $52821.Waukesha County Technical Co...$57,764Blackhawk Technical College$56,991William Rainey Harper College$56,704Gateway Technical College$54,142Moraine Park Technical College$53,771College of Lake County$52,821
Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard - median earnings of all graduates at each school (not a single program).
Median graduate earnings by school for schools serving Best HVAC Schools in Wisconsin (2026)
SchoolMedian graduate earnings
Waukesha County Technical College$57,764
Blackhawk Technical College$56,991
William Rainey Harper College$56,704
Gateway Technical College$54,142
Moraine Park Technical College$53,771
College of Lake County$52,821

HVAC Technician Pay and Job Outlook

Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers annual wage by percentile: $40,050 at the 10th percentile, $61,010 median, $95,210 at the 90th. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
What heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers earn across the pay scale
Projected job growth for heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers: 425,200 jobs in 2024 to 459,700 in 2034, +8.1% change. Source: U.S. BLS Employment Projections, 2024-2034.
Projected job growth for heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers
Top-paying states for heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers - District of Columbia leads at $84,390. Source: U.S. BLS OEWS, May 2025 release.
Top-paying states for heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers

Wisconsin Quick Facts

MetricValueSource
State median annual wage$61,710BLS OEWS, May 2025
State employment6,630 workersBLS OEWS, May 2025
State location quotient0.86BLS OEWS, May 2025
State unemployment rate3.2%BLS LAUS (2024)
Federal Davis-Bacon prevailing wage$88.01/hr ($58.03 base + $29.98 fringe)DOL Wage and Hour Division, 2026

Top Cities for HVAC Training in Wisconsin

The cities below have the highest concentration of HVAC training programs and population centers within Wisconsin. Click through for school listings near each:

How to Become an HVAC Technician in Wisconsin

  1. Choose an accredited training path. Options include trade schools, community colleges, and registered apprenticeships.
  2. Complete classroom instruction in code, safety, and trade theory.
  3. Log on-the-job training hours under a licensed or experienced professional.
  4. Pass any required state or local exam. In Wisconsin, the relevant credential is the HVAC QUALIFIER (CareerOneStop, 2025).
  5. Apply for licensure or certification, then maintain it through continuing education as required by the state.

HVAC Licensing in Wisconsin

The licenses below are reported by CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) for HVAC-related work in Wisconsin:

  • HVAC QUALIFIER
  • HVAC CONTRACTOR
  • DESIGNER OF ENGINEERING SYSTEMS - HVAC
  • UDC HVAC BUILDING INSPECTOR - ONE & TWO FAMILY HOMES
  • LIFT MECHANIC

License names and requirements are sourced from the CareerOneStop License Finder. Verify current rules with the issuing agency before applying.

Apprenticeship Programs in Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, registered apprenticeships are coordinated through the Wisconsin Bureau of Apprenticeship Standards - Registered Apprenticeships (CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor). Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction, typically over 3 to 5 years.

About HVAC Careers in Wisconsin

HVAC technicians install, maintain, and repair heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration systems.

In Wisconsin, the BLS reports a median annual wage of $61,710, about 6,630 workers in the occupation, a location quotient of 0.86 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Career outlook varies by region and specialization. Refer to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook for national projections and Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for the latest state and metropolitan area data.

HVAC Technician Wages and Workforce in Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, HVAC Technician programs train for an occupation with a median wage of about $61,710 per year, and most earn between $45,930 and $98,070 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Wisconsin employs roughly 6,630 workers in this occupation, a workforce concentration of about 0.86 times the national average (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

Trade-relevant schools serving Wisconsin include Fox Valley Technical College, Moraine Park Technical College, and Northwood Technical College. Compare tuition, program length, and graduation outcomes in the table above (IPEDS and College Scorecard).

HVAC Technician Training and Licensing in Wisconsin

Licensing for HVAC Technician varies by state and locality. Confirm current training, exam, and credential requirements with the appropriate Wisconsin licensing board before you enroll; many employers also look for recognized industry certifications.

Training paths typically range from certificate programs (6 to 12 months) and associate degrees (about 2 years) to registered apprenticeships (3 to 5 years) that combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction (TradeCareerPath program data).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does HVAC technician training in Wisconsin involve?

HVAC technician training in Wisconsin is offered through trade school certificate programs (typically 6 to 12 months), community college associate degree programs (about 2 years), and registered apprenticeships that combine paid on-the-job training with related classroom instruction over 3 to 5 years. Coursework generally covers safety, applicable codes and standards, hands-on lab work, and exam preparation for any required credential.

How much do HVAC technicians earn in Wisconsin?

According to BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (May 2025), HVAC technicians in Wisconsin earned a median annual wage of approximately $61,710. Pay varies with experience, certification, and employer; the 10th to 90th percentile range was approximately $45,930 to $98,070 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).

What is the Wisconsin license or certification process for HVAC technicians?

Licensing for HVAC technicians in Wisconsin is administered by Division of Professional Credential Processing. Most candidates complete an approved training program or registered apprenticeship, log the required on-the-job hours, and pass a state exam. Confirm current hour totals, fees, and renewal terms directly with the licensing agency before enrolling. (Source: U.S. Department of Labor CareerOneStop license database.)


About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)