How to Become a Cosmetologist in Utah (2026)
Utah employs about 2,810 cosmetologists earning a median $35,140 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Utah
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Top Nails & Hair Beauty School | 79.2 | Contact school for pricing | $35,491 | 95% | — | 4 mi |
| 2 | Esteem Academy of Beauty | 77.5 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 94% | — | 34 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Cameo College of Essential Beauty | 64.5 | Contact school for pricing | $27,255 | Not reported | — | 6 mi |
| 4 | Mountainland Technical College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,284 | 81% | — | 19 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Tooele Technical College | 55.2 | Contact school for pricing | $51,524 | 75% | — | 19 mi |
| 6 | Taylor Andrews Academy of Hair Design-West Jordan | 55.2 | Contact school for pricing | $28,192 | 72% | — | 5 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Avalon Institute-Layton | 53.5 | Contact school for pricing | $33,261 | 73% | — | 28 mi |
| 8 | Collectiv Academy | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $20,315 | Not reported | — | 11 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 25 mi |
| 10 | Paul Mitchell the School-Salt Lake City | 45.7 | Contact school for pricing | $31,097 | 78% | — | 8 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Utah employs approximately 2,810 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $35,140 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Utah, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Utah): $35,140 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Utah
How to become a Cosmetologist in Utah? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Utah? Yes. Utah typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Utah? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Utah is $35,140 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $21,810 and experienced professionals can earn $75,860 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Utah
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the program and employer. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Utah’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with the program and employer; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the program and employer uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to the program and employer before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Utah
Cosmetologists in Utah complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to the program and employer for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the program and employer for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Utah
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Utah
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Utah vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City-Murray | 1,270 | $40,720 | $47,570 | $22,230 | $80,410 |
| Provo-Orem-Lehi | 750 | $31,720 | $38,330 | $21,810 | $58,890 |
| Ogden | 360 | $30,080 | $36,040 | $21,190 | $52,220 |
| St. George | 170 | $30,200 | $37,710 | $20,920 | $61,670 |
| Logan | 90 | $30,560 | $35,650 | $20,680 | $59,980 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 2,810 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Utah with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Utah is $35,140, which is $110 below the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Utah
Top local programs
- Best Beauty Schools in Alpine, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in American Fork, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Bluffdale, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Bountiful, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Brigham City, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Cedar City, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Cedar Hills, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Centerville, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Clearfield, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Clinton, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Cottonwood Heights, Utah (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Draper, Utah (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Utah
- Best HVAC Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Utah
- Best Plumbing Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Utah
Explore More Trades in Utah
- Electrician in Utah
- Plumber in Utah
- HVAC Technician in Utah
- Welder in Utah
- Carpenter in Utah
- Solar Installation Technician in Utah
- Auto Mechanic in Utah
- CNC Machinist in Utah
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Utah
- Medical Assistant in Utah
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |