How to Become a Cosmetologist in Washington (2026)
Washington employs about 6,930 cosmetologists earning a median $59,510 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Department of Licensing.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Washington
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Everett Community College | 66.5 | $5,032 - $20,451 | $54,647 | 38% | Yes* | 81 mi |
| 2 | Clover Park Technical College | 63.9 | $6,634 - $18,882 | $51,699 | 42% | Yes* | 63 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Olympic College | 60.1 | Contact school for pricing | $57,634 | 33% | — | 78 mi |
| 4 | Evergreen Beauty and Barber College-Everett | 56.4 | Contact school for pricing | $33,167 | 82% | — | 76 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Seattle Central College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $60,072 | 31% | — | 66 mi |
| 6 | Toni & Guy Hairdressing Academy-Shoreline | 49.8 | Contact school for pricing | $38,017 | 80% | — | 73 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Aveda Arts & Sciences Institute Seattle | 45.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,551 | Not reported | — | 66 mi |
| 8 | Centralia Beauty College | 42.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 48% | — | 88 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Paul Mitchell the School-Federal Way | 37.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 58 mi |
| 10 | Summit Salon Academy | 29.7 | Contact school for pricing | $30,688 | Not reported | — | 62 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Washington employs approximately 6,930 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $59,510 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Washington, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Licensing authority: Department of Licensing
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Washington): $59,510 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Washington
How to become a Cosmetologist in Washington? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Department of Licensing.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Licensing.
Do I need a license in Washington? Yes. Washington credentials this role through Department of Licensing 3. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Washington? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Washington is $59,510 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,830 and experienced professionals can earn $99,970 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Washington
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Department of Licensing. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Washington’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Department of Licensing; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Department of Licensing uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Department of Licensing before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Washington
Cosmetologists in Washington complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Department of Licensing for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Department of Licensing 3.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to Department of Licensing for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Licensing before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Washington
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Washington
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Washington vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 7,010 | $37,020 | $49,360 | $26,900 | $78,900 |
| Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue | 4,510 | $59,810 | $65,920 | $38,910 | $101,340 |
| Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro | 1,500 | $59,610 | $60,670 | $35,350 | $77,620 |
| Spokane-Spokane Valley | 570 | $61,440 | $65,150 | $35,470 | $100,180 |
| Olympia-Lacey-Tumwater | 290 | $49,840 | $58,660 | $35,320 | $94,640 |
| Kennewick-Richland | 250 | $49,640 | $53,290 | $34,970 | $76,670 |
| Bremerton-Silverdale-Port Orchard | 200 | $58,150 | $60,560 | $35,750 | $79,000 |
| Bellingham | 160 | $61,820 | $64,360 | $35,470 | $109,340 |
| Lewiston | 100 | $37,820 | $38,450 | $22,710 | $51,210 |
| Yakima | 100 | $46,270 | $54,800 | $34,650 | $95,560 |
| Wenatchee-East Wenatchee | 70 | $38,810 | $49,860 | $34,650 | $78,120 |
| Longview-Kelso | 40 | $36,590 | $52,120 | $34,780 | $80,460 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Washington? Washington currently employs approximately 6,930 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Washington with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Licensing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Washington? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Washington.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Washington compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Washington is $59,510, which is $24,260 above the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Washington
Top local programs
- Best Beauty Schools in Aberdeen, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Anacortes, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Arlington, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Auburn, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Bainbridge Island, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Battle Ground, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Bellevue, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Bellingham, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Bonney Lake, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Bothell, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Bremerton, Washington (2026)
- Best Beauty Schools in Burien, Washington (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Washington
- Best HVAC Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Washington
- Best Plumbing Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Washington
Explore More Trades in Washington
- Electrician in Washington
- Plumber in Washington
- HVAC Technician in Washington
- Welder in Washington
- Carpenter in Washington
- Solar Installation Technician in Washington
- Auto Mechanic in Washington
- CNC Machinist in Washington
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Washington
- Medical Assistant in Washington
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Licensing - Licensing Information: https://dol.wa.gov/about/contact-us/business-and-professional-licensing-contact-information ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |