How to Become a Bookkeeper in Connecticut (2026)
Connecticut employs about 14,930 bookkeepers earning a median $59,970 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most bookkeepers train through an approved program before entering the field in Connecticut.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Connecticut): $59,970/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Connecticut: 14,930 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.00x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -5.8% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Bookkeeper Schools in Connecticut
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Suffolk County Community College | 68.2 | Contact school for pricing | $50,418 | Not reported | Yes* | 55 mi |
| 2 | Columbia-Greene Community College | 64.9 | Contact school for pricing | $51,620 | 40% | Yes* | 67 mi |
| 3 | Quinsigamond Community College | 58.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,076 | 21% | Yes* | 70 mi |
| 4 | Goodwin University | 57.9 | Contact school for pricing | $72,845 | 58% | Yes* | 12 mi |
| 5 | SUNY Westchester Community College | 55.9 | Contact school for pricing | $112,190 | 24% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 6 | Dutchess Community College | 55.7 | Contact school for pricing | $44,694 | Not reported | Yes* | 58 mi |
| 7 | Greenfield Community College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $52,747 | 26% | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 8 | Connecticut State Community College | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,130 | 21% | Yes* | 12 mi |
| 9 | Holyoke Community College | 43.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,724 | 31% | Yes* | 40 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Connecticut employs approximately 14,930 bookkeepers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $59,970 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 170,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Bookkeeper in Connecticut, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Connecticut): $59,970 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Bookkeeper in Connecticut
How to become a Bookkeeper in Connecticut? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for bookkeepers in Connecticut.
How long does it take? bookkeeper training length in Connecticut varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do bookkeepers earn in Connecticut? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Connecticut is $59,970 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $43,450 and experienced professionals can earn $81,740 or more 1.
How to Become a Bookkeeper in Connecticut
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Connecticut training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved bookkeeper program in Connecticut that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to bookkeepers in Connecticut before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Bookkeeper Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks wages in Connecticut vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford | 4,660 | $59,470 | $60,020 | $42,860 | $77,630 |
| Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury | 3,710 | $61,390 | $64,990 | $45,020 | $89,010 |
| New Haven | 2,900 | $62,890 | $63,130 | $44,980 | $81,740 |
| Waterbury-Shelton | 1,440 | $56,100 | $58,520 | $41,620 | $77,140 |
| Norwich-New London-Willimantic | 910 | $57,530 | $58,470 | $41,810 | $79,060 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for bookkeepers in Connecticut? Connecticut currently employs approximately 14,930 bookkeepers 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Connecticut? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Connecticut.
How much do bookkeepers earn in Connecticut compared to the national average? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Connecticut is $59,970, which is $10,760 above the national median of $49,210 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Connecticut
Top local programs
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Ansonia, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Bridgeport, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Bristol, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in City Of Milford Balance, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Danbury, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Derby, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Greenwich, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Hartford, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Meriden, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Middletown, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Naugatuck, Connecticut (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Connecticut
- Best HVAC Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Connecticut
- Best Plumbing Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Connecticut
Explore More Trades in Connecticut
- Electrician in Connecticut
- Plumber in Connecticut
- HVAC Technician in Connecticut
- Welder in Connecticut
- Carpenter in Connecticut
- Solar Installation Technician in Connecticut
- Auto Mechanic in Connecticut
- CNC Machinist in Connecticut
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Connecticut
- Medical Assistant in Connecticut
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |