How to Become a Bookkeeper in Illinois (2026)
Illinois employs about 51,470 bookkeepers earning a median $49,560 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most bookkeepers train through an approved program before entering the field in Illinois.
Compare Bookkeeper Schools in Illinois
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Moraine Valley Community College | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,357 | 37% | Yes* | 74 mi |
| 2 | Waubonsee Community College | 59.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,678 | Not reported | Yes* | 60 mi |
| 3 | Sauk Valley Community College | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $54,209 | 50% | Yes* | 65 mi |
| 4 | Illinois Valley Community College | 58.3 | $4,200 - $16,385 | $48,989 | 43% | Yes* | 22 mi |
| 5 | Richland Community College | 53.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,785 | 52% | Yes* | 78 mi |
| 6 | Kankakee Community College | 53.4 | $5,220 - $25,830 | $50,343 | 35% | Yes* | 57 mi |
| 7 | Heartland Community College | 51.7 | $5,550 - $16,727 | $48,942 | 53% | Yes* | 33 mi |
| 8 | Elgin Community College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $54,220 | 41% | — | 77 mi |
| 9 | Illinois Central College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,058 | Not reported | Yes* | 36 mi |
| 10 | South Suburban College | 48.6 | Contact school for pricing | $45,069 | Not reported | Yes* | 81 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Illinois employs approximately 51,470 bookkeepers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $49,560 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 170,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Bookkeeper in Illinois, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Illinois): $49,560 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Bookkeeper in Illinois
How to become a Bookkeeper in Illinois? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for bookkeepers in Illinois.
How long does it take? bookkeeper training length in Illinois varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do bookkeepers earn in Illinois? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Illinois is $49,560 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $32,360 and experienced professionals can earn $71,480 or more 1.
How to Become a Bookkeeper in Illinois
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Illinois training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved bookkeeper program in Illinois that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to bookkeepers in Illinois before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Bookkeeper Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks wages in Illinois vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin | 35,660 | $51,440 | $54,100 | $36,140 | $73,430 |
| St. Louis | 9,950 | $49,970 | $53,400 | $37,680 | $74,090 |
| Peoria | 1,390 | $47,670 | $49,710 | $36,360 | $63,740 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 1,360 | $47,840 | $49,220 | $35,900 | $62,660 |
| Rockford | 1,020 | $46,790 | $49,480 | $35,720 | $63,820 |
| Springfield | 860 | $50,780 | $52,600 | $36,610 | $71,990 |
| Champaign-Urbana | 710 | $48,830 | $51,490 | $37,640 | $65,870 |
| Paducah | 610 | $46,310 | $48,740 | $32,130 | $66,620 |
| Bloomington | 590 | $45,220 | $48,210 | $35,990 | $61,270 |
| Kankakee | 400 | $47,240 | $48,610 | $35,140 | $64,490 |
| Decatur | 330 | $48,200 | $50,080 | $35,540 | $64,140 |
| Cape Girardeau | 310 | $45,810 | $48,790 | $33,550 | $67,640 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for bookkeepers in Illinois? Illinois currently employs approximately 51,470 bookkeepers 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Illinois? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Illinois.
How much do bookkeepers earn in Illinois compared to the national average? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Illinois is $49,560, which is $350 above the national median of $49,210 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Illinois
Top local programs
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Addison, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Algonquin, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Alsip, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Alton, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Antioch, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Arlington Heights, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Aurora, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Barrington, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Bartlett, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Batavia, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Beach Park, Illinois (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Belleville, Illinois (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Illinois
- Best HVAC Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Illinois
- Best Plumbing Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Illinois
Explore More Trades in Illinois
- Electrician in Illinois
- Plumber in Illinois
- HVAC Technician in Illinois
- Welder in Illinois
- Carpenter in Illinois
- Solar Installation Technician in Illinois
- Auto Mechanic in Illinois
- CNC Machinist in Illinois
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Illinois
- Medical Assistant in Illinois
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |