How to Become a Bookkeeper in Kentucky (2026)
Kentucky employs about 23,480 bookkeepers earning a median $46,550 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most bookkeepers train through an approved program before entering the field in Kentucky.
Compare Bookkeeper Schools in Kentucky
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Cincinnati-Clermont College | 58.7 | Contact school for pricing | $72,188 | 24% | Yes* | 111 mi |
| 2 | Pellissippi State Community College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $45,692 | Not reported | Yes* | 148 mi |
| 3 | University of Cincinnati-Blue Ash College | 51.3 | Contact school for pricing | $72,188 | 16% | Yes* | 114 mi |
| 4 | Cincinnati State Technical and Community College | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $59,235 | 18% | Yes* | 106 mi |
| 5 | Vincennes University | 48.2 | Contact school for pricing | $54,333 | 37% | Yes* | 136 mi |
| 6 | South College | 45.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 143 mi |
| 7 | Sullivan University | 43.9 | Contact school for pricing | $53,068 | 56% | Yes* | 37 mi |
| 8 | Nashville State Community College | 39.5 | Contact school for pricing | $48,592 | Not reported | Yes* | 140 mi |
| 9 | Southern State Community College | 37.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,360 | 31% | Yes* | 139 mi |
| 10 | Interactive College of Technology-Newport | 31.8 | Contact school for pricing | $34,836 | 36% | Yes* | 103 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kentucky employs approximately 23,480 bookkeepers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,550 1. The state’s concentration of bookkeeper jobs is 1.33x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 170,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Bookkeeper in Kentucky, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Kentucky): $46,550 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Bookkeeper in Kentucky
How to become a Bookkeeper in Kentucky? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for bookkeepers in Kentucky.
How long does it take? bookkeeper training length in Kentucky varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do bookkeepers earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Kentucky is $46,550 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $30,090 and experienced professionals can earn $66,930 or more 1.
How to Become a Bookkeeper in Kentucky
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Kentucky training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved bookkeeper program in Kentucky that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to bookkeepers in Kentucky before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Bookkeeper Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 9,050 | $49,590 | $52,410 | $36,620 | $70,980 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 7,730 | $47,990 | $49,660 | $30,360 | $69,850 |
| Lexington-Fayette | 3,120 | $48,000 | $49,780 | $30,700 | $68,770 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 1,550 | $42,720 | $44,790 | $31,630 | $60,010 |
| Clarksville | 1,000 | $46,280 | $46,590 | $30,840 | $61,110 |
| Bowling Green | 900 | $44,160 | $46,300 | $29,910 | $63,600 |
| Paducah | 610 | $46,310 | $48,740 | $32,130 | $66,620 |
| Elizabethtown | 560 | $43,830 | $45,870 | $30,480 | $63,420 |
| Owensboro | 560 | $46,430 | $48,150 | $31,200 | $67,220 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for bookkeepers in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 23,480 bookkeepers 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kentucky.
How much do bookkeepers earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Kentucky is $46,550, which is $2,660 below the national median of $49,210 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kentucky
Top local programs
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Ashland, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Bardstown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Berea, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Bowling Green, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Campbellsville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Covington, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Danville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Elizabethtown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Erlanger, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Florence, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Fort Thomas, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Frankfort, Kentucky (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kentucky
- Best HVAC Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kentucky
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kentucky
Explore More Trades in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- HVAC Technician in Kentucky
- Welder in Kentucky
- Carpenter in Kentucky
- Solar Installation Technician in Kentucky
- Auto Mechanic in Kentucky
- CNC Machinist in Kentucky
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kentucky
- Medical Assistant in Kentucky
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |