How to Become a Bookkeeper in Michigan (2026)
Michigan employs about 37,550 bookkeepers earning a median $48,980 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most bookkeepers train through an approved program before entering the field in Michigan.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Michigan): $48,980/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Michigan: 37,550 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.97x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: -5.8% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Bookkeeper Schools in Michigan
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Schoolcraft Community College District | 57.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,981 | Not reported | Yes* | 83 mi |
| 2 | Washtenaw Community College | 54.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,304 | Not reported | Yes* | 83 mi |
| 3 | Jackson College | 52.2 | Contact school for pricing | $53,223 | 17% | Yes* | 74 mi |
| 4 | Oakland Community College | 48.9 | Contact school for pricing | $53,677 | 19% | Yes* | 82 mi |
| 5 | Lansing Community College | 48.5 | Contact school for pricing | $56,314 | 24% | Yes* | 34 mi |
| 6 | Muskegon Community College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $47,476 | 30% | Yes* | 78 mi |
| 7 | Delta College | 46.8 | $4,820 - $13,541 | $52,169 | 21% | Yes* | 40 mi |
| 8 | Kellogg Community College | 44.1 | Contact school for pricing | $41,918 | 28% | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 9 | Grand Rapids Community College | 41.4 | Contact school for pricing | $49,887 | 20% | Yes* | 55 mi |
| 10 | Montcalm Community College | 40.9 | Contact school for pricing | $55,704 | 29% | — | 23 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Michigan employs approximately 37,550 bookkeepers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,980 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 170,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Bookkeeper in Michigan, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Michigan): $48,980 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Bookkeeper in Michigan
How to become a Bookkeeper in Michigan? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for bookkeepers in Michigan.
How long does it take? bookkeeper training length in Michigan varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do bookkeepers earn in Michigan? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Michigan is $48,980 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,250 and experienced professionals can earn $67,480 or more 1.
How to Become a Bookkeeper in Michigan
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Michigan training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved bookkeeper program in Michigan that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to bookkeepers in Michigan before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Bookkeeper Wages by Metro Area in Michigan
Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Michigan
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks wages in Michigan vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Detroit-Warren-Dearborn | 14,730 | $51,480 | $53,540 | $38,160 | $71,570 |
| Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood | 5,070 | $48,550 | $51,210 | $37,440 | $65,530 |
| Lansing-East Lansing | 1,940 | $50,500 | $52,120 | $36,320 | $68,370 |
| Ann Arbor | 1,510 | $51,100 | $53,090 | $37,440 | $73,110 |
| South Bend-Mishawaka | 1,110 | $47,940 | $49,040 | $32,310 | $64,370 |
| Kalamazoo-Portage | 1,040 | $48,040 | $49,940 | $37,130 | $62,640 |
| Flint | 990 | $46,970 | $49,870 | $35,080 | $66,010 |
| Traverse City | 890 | $46,350 | $48,260 | $36,550 | $60,960 |
| Saginaw | 670 | $46,480 | $48,260 | $35,140 | $64,190 |
| Jackson | 500 | $48,690 | $50,390 | $34,810 | $64,440 |
| Niles | 500 | $48,070 | $49,430 | $35,370 | $62,540 |
| Muskegon-Norton Shores | 440 | $47,940 | $49,290 | $34,510 | $61,420 |
| Battle Creek | 370 | $47,510 | $49,600 | $34,960 | $62,820 |
| Midland | 370 | $46,500 | $55,260 | $32,650 | $83,100 |
| Michigan City-La Porte | 340 | $46,650 | $47,880 | $31,240 | $64,570 |
| Bay City | 330 | $47,730 | $49,830 | $33,280 | $69,430 |
| Monroe | 290 | $48,210 | $49,830 | $36,330 | $63,120 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for bookkeepers in Michigan? Michigan currently employs approximately 37,550 bookkeepers 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Michigan? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Michigan.
How much do bookkeepers earn in Michigan compared to the national average? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Michigan is $48,980, which is $230 below the national median of $49,210 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Michigan
Top local programs
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Adrian, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Allen Park, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Alma, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Alpena, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Ann Arbor, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Auburn Hills, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Battle Creek, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Bay City, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Benton Harbor, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Berkley, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Beverly Hills, Michigan (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Big Rapids, Michigan (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Michigan
- Best HVAC Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Michigan
- Best Plumbing Schools in Michigan (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Michigan
Explore More Trades in Michigan
- Electrician in Michigan
- Plumber in Michigan
- HVAC Technician in Michigan
- Welder in Michigan
- Carpenter in Michigan
- Solar Installation Technician in Michigan
- Auto Mechanic in Michigan
- CNC Machinist in Michigan
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Michigan
- Medical Assistant in Michigan
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |