How to Become a Bookkeeper in Montana (2026)
Montana employs about 6,980 bookkeepers earning a median $47,270 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most bookkeepers train through an approved program before entering the field in Montana.
Compare Bookkeeper Schools in Montana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | College of Eastern Idaho | 66.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,123 | 37% | Yes* | 243 mi |
| 2 | Brigham Young University-Idaho | 65.8 | Contact school for pricing | $56,787 | 55% | Yes* | 217 mi |
| 3 | Miles Community College | 65.0 | $5,818 - $17,452 | $43,022 | 55% | Yes* | 247 mi |
| 4 | Northern Wyoming Community College District | 60.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,958 | Not reported | Yes* | 243 mi |
| 5 | Flathead Valley Community College | 54.5 | $4,912 - $14,882 | $47,642 | 28% | Yes* | 180 mi |
| 6 | Helena College University of Montana | 50.2 | $4,146 - $15,819 | $50,913 | 37% | Yes* | 54 mi |
| 7 | North Idaho College | 46.4 | Contact school for pricing | $50,312 | 37% | Yes* | 277 mi |
| 8 | Highlands College of Montana Tech | 40.9 | Contact school for pricing | $79,369 | 36% | — | 100 mi |
| 9 | Stone Child College | 34.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,263 | Not reported | — | 108 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Montana employs approximately 6,980 bookkeepers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $47,270 1. The state’s concentration of bookkeeper jobs is 1.54x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 170,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Bookkeeper in Montana, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Montana): $47,270 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Bookkeeper in Montana
How to become a Bookkeeper in Montana? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for bookkeepers in Montana.
How long does it take? bookkeeper training length in Montana varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do bookkeepers earn in Montana? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Montana is $47,270 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $34,270 and experienced professionals can earn $63,980 or more 1.
How to Become a Bookkeeper in Montana
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Montana training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved bookkeeper program in Montana that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to bookkeepers in Montana before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Bookkeeper Wages by Metro Area in Montana
Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Montana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks wages in Montana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Billings | 1,160 | $47,830 | $49,810 | $35,180 | $64,700 |
| Bozeman | 940 | $49,820 | $52,920 | $34,880 | $71,080 |
| Missoula | 760 | $47,420 | $48,460 | $34,440 | $63,080 |
| Helena | 650 | $45,870 | $49,010 | $36,620 | $64,040 |
| Great Falls | 440 | $45,890 | $45,970 | $30,750 | $60,320 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for bookkeepers in Montana? Montana currently employs approximately 6,980 bookkeepers 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Montana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Montana.
How much do bookkeepers earn in Montana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Montana is $47,270, which is $1,940 below the national median of $49,210 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Montana
Top local programs
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Belgrade, Montana (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Billings, Montana (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Bozeman, Montana (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Butte, Montana (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Great Falls, Montana (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Havre, Montana (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Helena, Montana (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Kalispell, Montana (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Missoula, Montana (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Montana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Montana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Montana
- Best HVAC Schools in Montana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Montana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Montana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Montana
Explore More Trades in Montana
- Electrician in Montana
- Plumber in Montana
- HVAC Technician in Montana
- Welder in Montana
- Carpenter in Montana
- Solar Installation Technician in Montana
- Auto Mechanic in Montana
- CNC Machinist in Montana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Montana
- Medical Assistant in Montana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |