How to Become a Bookkeeper in Tennessee (2026)
Tennessee employs about 37,680 bookkeepers earning a median $48,180 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most bookkeepers train through an approved program before entering the field in Tennessee.
Compare Bookkeeper Schools in Tennessee
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Northeast Mississippi Community College | 56.6 | Contact school for pricing | $43,163 | Not reported | Yes* | 104 mi |
| 2 | Georgia Northwestern Technical College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $44,490 | 38% | Yes* | 160 mi |
| 3 | Snead State Community College | 53.0 | Contact school for pricing | $43,544 | 49% | Yes* | 124 mi |
| 4 | Northwest Shoals Community College | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $45,546 | 36% | Yes* | 73 mi |
| 5 | Gadsden State Community College | 47.7 | $4,272 - $10,189 | $46,678 | 35% | Yes* | 142 mi |
| 6 | Herzing University-Birmingham | 46.8 | Contact school for pricing | $58,575 | 28% | Yes* | 160 mi |
| 7 | Jefferson State Community College | 41.3 | Contact school for pricing | $55,877 | 24% | Yes* | 150 mi |
| 8 | Nashville State Community College | 39.5 | Contact school for pricing | $48,592 | Not reported | Yes* | 36 mi |
| 9 | Southeastern Illinois College | 37.2 | Contact school for pricing | $53,583 | 53% | — | 154 mi |
| 10 | Southwest Tennessee Community College | 35.0 | Contact school for pricing | $44,124 | Not reported | Yes* | 150 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Tennessee employs approximately 37,680 bookkeepers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,180 1. The state’s concentration of bookkeeper jobs is 1.30x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 170,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Bookkeeper in Tennessee, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Tennessee): $48,180 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Bookkeeper in Tennessee
How to become a Bookkeeper in Tennessee? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for bookkeepers in Tennessee.
How long does it take? bookkeeper training length in Tennessee varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do bookkeepers earn in Tennessee? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Tennessee is $48,180 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,000 and experienced professionals can earn $67,730 or more 1.
How to Become a Bookkeeper in Tennessee
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Tennessee training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved bookkeeper program in Tennessee that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to bookkeepers in Tennessee before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Bookkeeper Wages by Metro Area in Tennessee
Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Tennessee
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks wages in Tennessee vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin | 13,790 | $50,810 | $53,720 | $38,150 | $74,090 |
| Memphis | 6,320 | $48,400 | $50,490 | $35,550 | $66,920 |
| Knoxville | 4,510 | $47,320 | $49,040 | $35,160 | $65,090 |
| Chattanooga | 2,920 | $46,920 | $48,730 | $34,510 | $64,780 |
| Kingsport-Bristol | 1,170 | $45,670 | $46,530 | $32,710 | $63,570 |
| Clarksville | 1,000 | $46,280 | $46,590 | $30,840 | $61,110 |
| Johnson City | 870 | $40,700 | $43,470 | $29,650 | $58,990 |
| Jackson | 800 | $45,240 | $46,320 | $31,280 | $62,900 |
| Morristown | 420 | $44,040 | $44,680 | $30,470 | $61,740 |
| Cleveland | 400 | $43,660 | $44,180 | $29,890 | $61,840 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for bookkeepers in Tennessee? Tennessee currently employs approximately 37,680 bookkeepers 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Tennessee? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Tennessee.
How much do bookkeepers earn in Tennessee compared to the national average? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Tennessee is $48,180, which is $1,030 below the national median of $49,210 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Tennessee
Top local programs
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Arlington, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Athens, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Atoka, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Bartlett, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Brentwood, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Bristol, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Chattanooga, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Clarksville, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Cleveland, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Clinton, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Collegedale, Tennessee (2026)
- Best Bookkeeper Schools in Collierville, Tennessee (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Tennessee
- Best HVAC Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Tennessee
- Best Plumbing Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Tennessee
Explore More Trades in Tennessee
- Electrician in Tennessee
- Plumber in Tennessee
- HVAC Technician in Tennessee
- Welder in Tennessee
- Carpenter in Tennessee
- Solar Installation Technician in Tennessee
- Auto Mechanic in Tennessee
- CNC Machinist in Tennessee
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Tennessee
- Medical Assistant in Tennessee
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |