How to Become a Bookkeeper in Vermont (2026)

Vermont employs about 2,950 bookkeepers earning a median $54,720 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most bookkeepers train through an approved program before entering the field in Vermont.

Compare Bookkeeper Schools in Vermont

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
162.7Contact school for pricing$54,71934%Yes*117 mi
255.0Contact school for pricing$45,309Not reportedYes*117 mi
354.3Contact school for pricing$52,74726%Yes*115 mi
453.3Contact school for pricing$53,97727%Yes*122 mi
551.3Contact school for pricing$44,93533%Yes*76 mi
649.0Contact school for pricing$54,792Not reportedYes*119 mi
745.6Contact school for pricing$45,90528%Yes*42 mi
843.1Contact school for pricing$44,04031%Yes*115 mi
925.7Contact school for pricing$45,15122%Yes*11 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Vermont employs approximately 2,950 bookkeepers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $54,720 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 170,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Bookkeeper in Vermont, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school or community college
  • Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
  • Median wage (Vermont): $54,720 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Bookkeeper in Vermont

How to become a Bookkeeper in Vermont? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for bookkeepers in Vermont.

How long does it take? bookkeeper training length in Vermont varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.

What do bookkeepers earn in Vermont? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Vermont is $54,720 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $41,720 and experienced professionals can earn $74,970 or more 1.

How to Become a Bookkeeper in Vermont

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Vermont training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved bookkeeper program in Vermont that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to bookkeepers in Vermont before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Bookkeeper Wages by Metro Area in Vermont

Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks Wages by Metro Area in Vermont

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks wages in Vermont vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Burlington-South Burlington1,020$56,690$58,590$43,360$75,930

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for bookkeepers in Vermont? Vermont currently employs approximately 2,950 bookkeepers 1. Nationally, bookkeeper employment is projected to grow -5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Vermont.

How much do bookkeepers earn in Vermont compared to the national average? The median annual wage for bookkeepers in Vermont is $54,720, which is $5,510 above the national median of $49,210 according to BLS data 1.

In Vermont

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Vermont

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)