How to Become a Carpenter in Arkansas (2026)
Arkansas employs about 4,030 carpenters earning a median $47,760 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most carpenters train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Arkansas.
Compare Carpenter Schools in Arkansas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Green Country Technology Center | 74.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,261 | 67% | — | 216 mi |
| 2 | Indian Capital Technology Center-Muskogee | 68.1 | Contact school for pricing | $36,725 | 100% | — | 185 mi |
| 3 | Northeast Technology Center | 60.2 | Contact school for pricing | $49,636 | 97% | — | 201 mi |
| 4 | University of Arkansas Community College-Batesville | 54.5 | $3,630 in-state / $4,662 out-of-state | $45,597 | 66% | Yes* | 82 mi |
| 5 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | $4,250 in-state / $7,300 out-of-state | $40,042 | 43% | Yes* | 203 mi |
| 6 | Waynesville Career Center | 45.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,909 | 78% | — | 212 mi |
| 7 | East Arkansas Community College | 44.3 | $3,300 in-state / $4,380 out-of-state | $42,176 | 51% | Yes* | 89 mi |
| 8 | Coahoma Community College | 44.1 | $3,490 | $31,140 | 41% | Yes* | 104 mi |
| 9 | Kiamichi Technology Center-McAlester | 42.2 | Contact school for pricing | $36,651 | 45% | — | 196 mi |
| 10 | Poplar Bluff Technical Career Center | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 175 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Arkansas employs approximately 4,030 carpenters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $47,760 1. Nationally, carpenter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 74,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Carpenter in Arkansas, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Arkansas): $47,760 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Carpenter in Arkansas
How to become a Carpenter in Arkansas? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for carpenters in Arkansas.
How long does it take? Most paths into the carpenter field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do carpenters earn in Arkansas? The median annual wage for carpenters in Arkansas is $47,760 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,400 and experienced professionals can earn $70,550 or more 1.
How to Become a Carpenter in Arkansas
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Arkansas training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Arkansas that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to carpenters in Arkansas before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Carpenter Apprenticeship Information in Arkansas
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Arkansas’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Arkansas Department of Career Education - Registered Apprenticeship 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Arkansas Office of Skills Development
- Address: 1 Commerce Way, Little Rock, AR 72202
- Phone: (501) 683-1152
- Email: [email protected]
Federal Prevailing Wage in Arkansas
Under the Davis-Bacon Act, carpenters working on federally funded construction projects in Arkansas earn a prevailing wage set by the U.S. Department of Labor. Recent Arkansas general wage determinations show approximately $16.08 per hour in base pay plus $2.77 per hour in fringe benefits, for an effective hourly rate of about $18.85 (Source: DOL Wage and Hour Division, Davis-Bacon wage determinations, 2026) 4.
Prevailing wages apply to federal construction contracts above the Davis-Bacon threshold and may differ from typical private-sector pay reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Rates also vary by county and by classification within carpenter work.
Carpenter Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), carpenters wages in Arkansas vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memphis | 1,240 | $50,620 | $53,370 | $40,250 | $64,780 |
| Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers | 1,130 | $49,070 | $53,570 | $38,520 | $72,500 |
| Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway | 1,080 | $48,050 | $50,220 | $37,040 | $63,030 |
| Fort Smith | 240 | $42,420 | $45,080 | $33,760 | $62,500 |
| Hot Springs | 130 | $43,370 | $47,050 | $34,840 | $75,410 |
| Jonesboro | 110 | $43,950 | $47,990 | $35,640 | $68,620 |
| Texarkana | 90 | $42,650 | $45,980 | $29,970 | $63,380 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for carpenters in Arkansas? Arkansas currently employs approximately 4,030 carpenters 1. Nationally, carpenter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Arkansas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arkansas. You can also contact the Arkansas Department of Career Education - Registered Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do carpenters earn in Arkansas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for carpenters in Arkansas is $47,760, which is $11,550 below the national median of $59,310 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Arkansas
Top local programs
- Best Carpenter Schools in Arkadelphia, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Batesville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Bella Vista, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Benton, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Bentonville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Blytheville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Bryant, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Cabot, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Camden, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Centerton, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Conway, Arkansas (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Missouri (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Tennessee (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Texas (2026)
Explore More Trades in Arkansas
- Electrician in Arkansas
- Plumber in Arkansas
- HVAC Technician in Arkansas
- Welder in Arkansas
- Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas
- Auto Mechanic in Arkansas
- CNC Machinist in Arkansas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Arkansas
- Medical Assistant in Arkansas
- Massage Therapist in Arkansas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Arkansas Department of Career Education - Registered Apprenticeship: https://www.apprenticeship.gov/ ↩︎
U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division - Davis-Bacon General Wage Determinations: https://sam.gov/wage-determinations ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |