How to Become a Carpenter in Connecticut (2026)
Connecticut employs about 5,160 carpenters earning a median $64,060 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most carpenters train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Connecticut.
Compare Carpenter Schools in Connecticut
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | North Bennet Street School | 65.8 | Contact school for pricing | $57,182 | 90% | — | 137 mi |
| 2 | SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | 65.4 | $8,772 in-state / $12,762 out-of-state | $56,927 | 45% | Yes* | 116 mi |
| 3 | Johnson College | 61.2 | $21,225 | $51,602 | 55% | — | 128 mi |
| 4 | Burlington County Institute of Technology-Adult Education | 61.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 84% | — | 118 mi |
| 5 | Orleans Technical College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | $48,804 | 90% | — | 122 mi |
| 6 | Ocean County Vocational-Technical School | 59.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,510 | 65% | — | 98 mi |
| 7 | Hudson County Community College | 38.8 | $5,384 in-state / $9,248 out-of-state | $44,020 | 26% | Yes* | 55 mi |
| 8 | Philadelphia Technician Training | 19.7 | Contact school for pricing | $33,267 | 50% | — | 129 mi |
| 9 | Lehigh Career & Technical Institute | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 131 mi |
| 10 | Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $55,189 | 77% | — | 122 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Connecticut employs approximately 5,160 carpenters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $64,060 1. Nationally, carpenter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 74,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Carpenter in Connecticut, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Connecticut): $64,060 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Carpenter in Connecticut
How to become a Carpenter in Connecticut? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for carpenters in Connecticut.
How long does it take? Most paths into the carpenter field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do carpenters earn in Connecticut? The median annual wage for carpenters in Connecticut is $64,060 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $49,140 and experienced professionals can earn $88,000 or more 1.
How to Become a Carpenter in Connecticut
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Connecticut training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Connecticut that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to carpenters in Connecticut before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Carpenter Apprenticeship Information in Connecticut
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Connecticut’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Connecticut Office of Apprenticeship Training 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Connecticut Labor Department, Office of Apprenticeship & Training
- Address: 200 Folly Brook Boulevard, Wethersfield, CT 06109-1114
- Phone: (860) 263-6085
- Email: [email protected]
Federal Prevailing Wage in Connecticut
Under the Davis-Bacon Act, carpenters working on federally funded construction projects in Connecticut earn a prevailing wage set by the U.S. Department of Labor. Recent Connecticut general wage determinations show approximately $42.03 per hour in base pay plus $29.19 per hour in fringe benefits, for an effective hourly rate of about $71.22 (Source: DOL Wage and Hour Division, Davis-Bacon wage determinations, 2026) 4.
Prevailing wages apply to federal construction contracts above the Davis-Bacon threshold and may differ from typical private-sector pay reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Rates also vary by county and by classification within carpenter work.
Carpenter Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), carpenters wages in Connecticut vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford | 1,660 | $64,770 | $71,020 | $48,940 | $98,980 |
| Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury | 1,100 | $63,210 | $66,890 | $48,690 | $88,000 |
| Norwich-New London-Willimantic | 740 | $64,500 | $67,400 | $50,460 | $81,700 |
| New Haven | 730 | $65,750 | $70,830 | $50,810 | $89,310 |
| Waterbury-Shelton | 460 | $62,250 | $65,970 | $46,680 | $82,350 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for carpenters in Connecticut? Connecticut currently employs approximately 5,160 carpenters 1. Nationally, carpenter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Connecticut? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Connecticut. You can also contact the Connecticut Office of Apprenticeship Training for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do carpenters earn in Connecticut compared to the national average? The median annual wage for carpenters in Connecticut is $64,060, which is $4,750 above the national median of $59,310 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Connecticut
Top local programs
- Best Carpenter Schools in Ansonia, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Bridgeport, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Bristol, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in City Of Milford Balance, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Danbury, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Derby, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Greenwich, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Hartford, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Meriden, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Middletown, Connecticut (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Naugatuck, Connecticut (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in New York (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Rhode Island (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Connecticut
- Best HVAC Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Connecticut
Explore More Trades in Connecticut
- Electrician in Connecticut
- Plumber in Connecticut
- HVAC Technician in Connecticut
- Welder in Connecticut
- Solar Installation Technician in Connecticut
- Auto Mechanic in Connecticut
- CNC Machinist in Connecticut
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Connecticut
- Medical Assistant in Connecticut
- Massage Therapist in Connecticut
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Connecticut Office of Apprenticeship Training: http://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/progsupt/appren/WorkSchedules/SponsorReport1.htm ↩︎
U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division - Davis-Bacon General Wage Determinations: https://sam.gov/wage-determinations ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |