How to Become a Carpenter in Delaware (2026)
Delaware employs about 2,250 carpenters earning a median $59,200 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most carpenters train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Delaware.
Compare Carpenter Schools in Delaware
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Williamson College of the Trades | 81.5 | $31,611 | $79,194 | 83% | — | 13 mi |
| 2 | Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology | 67.0 | $9,050 | $57,788 | 71% | — | 45 mi |
| 3 | Burlington County Institute of Technology-Adult Education | 61.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 84% | — | 43 mi |
| 4 | Orleans Technical College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | $48,804 | 90% | — | 37 mi |
| 5 | Ocean County Vocational-Technical School | 59.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,510 | 65% | — | 74 mi |
| 6 | Delaware County Community College | 50.1 | $6,930 in-state / $15,540 out-of-state | $56,647 | 24% | Yes* | 18 mi |
| 7 | Berks Career & Technology Center | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 62% | — | 54 mi |
| 8 | Philadelphia Technician Training | 19.7 | Contact school for pricing | $33,267 | 50% | — | 30 mi |
| 9 | Lehigh Career & Technical Institute | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 64 mi |
| 10 | Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $55,189 | 77% | — | 64 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Delaware employs approximately 2,250 carpenters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $59,200 1. Nationally, carpenter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 74,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Carpenter in Delaware, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Delaware): $59,200 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Carpenter in Delaware
How to become a Carpenter in Delaware? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for carpenters in Delaware.
How long does it take? Most paths into the carpenter field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do carpenters earn in Delaware? The median annual wage for carpenters in Delaware is $59,200 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $45,160 and experienced professionals can earn $81,320 or more 1.
How to Become a Carpenter in Delaware
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Delaware training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Delaware that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to carpenters in Delaware before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Carpenter Apprenticeship Information in Delaware
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Delaware’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Delaware Office of Apprenticeship and Training 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Apprenticeship and Training Section: Division of Industrial Affairs, Delaware Department of Labor
- Address: 4425 N. Market Street, Wilmington, DE 19802
- Phone: (302) 761-8328
- Email: [email protected]
Federal Prevailing Wage in Delaware
Under the Davis-Bacon Act, carpenters working on federally funded construction projects in Delaware earn a prevailing wage set by the U.S. Department of Labor. Recent Delaware general wage determinations show approximately $38.27 per hour in base pay plus $25.34 per hour in fringe benefits, for an effective hourly rate of about $63.61 (Source: DOL Wage and Hour Division, Davis-Bacon wage determinations, 2026) 4.
Prevailing wages apply to federal construction contracts above the Davis-Bacon threshold and may differ from typical private-sector pay reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Rates also vary by county and by classification within carpenter work.
Carpenter Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), carpenters wages in Delaware vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 14,260 | $61,780 | $65,930 | $45,690 | $98,470 |
| Dover | 270 | $52,140 | $57,460 | $44,550 | $77,020 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for carpenters in Delaware? Delaware currently employs approximately 2,250 carpenters 1. Nationally, carpenter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Delaware? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Delaware. You can also contact the Delaware Office of Apprenticeship and Training for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do carpenters earn in Delaware compared to the national average? The median annual wage for carpenters in Delaware is $59,200, which is $110 below the national median of $59,310 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Delaware
Top local programs
- Best Carpenter Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Dover, Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Georgetown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Lewes, Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Middletown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Milford, Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Millsboro, Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Newark, Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Ocean View, Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Smyrna, Delaware (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Wilmington, Delaware (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Maryland (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in New Jersey (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Delaware
- Best HVAC Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Delaware
Explore More Trades in Delaware
- Electrician in Delaware
- Plumber in Delaware
- HVAC Technician in Delaware
- Welder in Delaware
- Solar Installation Technician in Delaware
- Auto Mechanic in Delaware
- CNC Machinist in Delaware
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Delaware
- Medical Assistant in Delaware
- Massage Therapist in Delaware
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Delaware Office of Apprenticeship and Training: https://www.apprenticeship.gov/ ↩︎
U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division - Davis-Bacon General Wage Determinations: https://sam.gov/wage-determinations ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |