How to Become a Carpenter in Maine (2026)
Maine employs about 5,170 carpenters earning a median $62,160 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most carpenters train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Maine.
Compare Carpenter Schools in Maine
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | North Bennet Street School | 65.8 | Contact school for pricing | $57,182 | 90% | — | 98 mi |
| 2 | SUNY College of Technology at Delhi | 65.4 | $8,772 in-state / $12,762 out-of-state | $56,927 | 45% | Yes* | 255 mi |
| 3 | Johnson College | 61.2 | $21,225 | $51,602 | 55% | — | 314 mi |
| 4 | Burlington County Institute of Technology-Adult Education | 61.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 84% | — | 344 mi |
| 5 | Orleans Technical College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | $48,804 | 90% | — | 347 mi |
| 6 | Ocean County Vocational-Technical School | 59.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,510 | 65% | — | 325 mi |
| 7 | Mohawk Valley Community College | 55.3 | $6,218 in-state / $8,851 out-of-state | $45,913 | 38% | Yes* | 252 mi |
| 8 | Hudson County Community College | 38.8 | $5,384 in-state / $9,248 out-of-state | $44,020 | 26% | Yes* | 281 mi |
| 9 | Lehigh Career & Technical Institute | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 343 mi |
| 10 | Triangle Tech Inc-Bethlehem | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $55,189 | 77% | — | 336 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Maine employs approximately 5,170 carpenters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $62,160 1. The state’s concentration of carpenter jobs is 1.87x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, carpenter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 74,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Carpenter in Maine, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Maine): $62,160 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Carpenter in Maine
How to become a Carpenter in Maine? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for carpenters in Maine.
How long does it take? Most paths into the carpenter field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do carpenters earn in Maine? The median annual wage for carpenters in Maine is $62,160 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,130 and experienced professionals can earn $78,240 or more 1.
How to Become a Carpenter in Maine
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Maine training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Maine that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to carpenters in Maine before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Carpenter Apprenticeship Information in Maine
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Maine’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Maine Apprenticeship Program 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Maine Department of Labor, Bureau of Employment Services
- Address: 55 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0055
- Phone: (207) 623-7969
- Email: [email protected]
Federal Prevailing Wage in Maine
Under the Davis-Bacon Act, carpenters working on federally funded construction projects in Maine earn a prevailing wage set by the U.S. Department of Labor. Recent Maine general wage determinations show approximately $19.77 per hour in base pay plus $3.38 per hour in fringe benefits, for an effective hourly rate of about $23.15 (Source: DOL Wage and Hour Division, Davis-Bacon wage determinations, 2026) 4.
Prevailing wages apply to federal construction contracts above the Davis-Bacon threshold and may differ from typical private-sector pay reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Rates also vary by county and by classification within carpenter work.
Carpenter Wages by Metro Area in Maine
Carpenters Wages by Metro Area in Maine
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), carpenters wages in Maine vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portland-South Portland | 2,230 | $64,300 | $66,600 | $50,480 | $79,020 |
| Bangor | 430 | $57,100 | $56,560 | $39,000 | $72,640 |
| Lewiston-Auburn | 280 | $60,950 | $59,530 | $45,540 | $74,560 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for carpenters in Maine? Maine currently employs approximately 5,170 carpenters 1. Nationally, carpenter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Maine? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Maine. You can also contact the Maine Apprenticeship Program for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do carpenters earn in Maine compared to the national average? The median annual wage for carpenters in Maine is $62,160, which is $2,850 above the national median of $59,310 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Maine
Top local programs
- Best Carpenter Schools in Auburn, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Augusta, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Bangor, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Biddeford, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Lewiston, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Portland, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Saco, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Sanford, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Portland, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Waterville, Maine (2026)
- Best Carpenter Schools in Westbrook, Maine (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in New Hampshire (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Maine
- Best HVAC Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Maine
- Best Plumbing Schools in Maine (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Maine
Explore More Trades in Maine
- Electrician in Maine
- Plumber in Maine
- HVAC Technician in Maine
- Welder in Maine
- Solar Installation Technician in Maine
- Auto Mechanic in Maine
- CNC Machinist in Maine
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Maine
- Medical Assistant in Maine
- Massage Therapist in Maine
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Maine Apprenticeship Program: https://joblink.maine.gov/ada/r/search/jobs?keywords=apprentice ↩︎
U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division - Davis-Bacon General Wage Determinations: https://sam.gov/wage-determinations ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |