How to Become a CNC Machinist in California (2026)
California employs about 18,950 cnc machinists earning a median $57,190 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most cnc machinists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in California.
Compare CNC Machinist Schools in California
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasadena City College | 71.5 | $1,180 in-state / $9,820 out-of-state | $48,980 | 48% | Yes* | 119 mi |
| 2 | Glendale Community College | 55.8 | $1,191 in-state / $10,935 out-of-state | $49,295 | 37% | Yes* | 114 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Madera Community College | 55.8 | $1,378 in-state / $8,638 out-of-state | Not reported | 35% | — | 106 mi |
| 4 | Allan Hancock College | 55.3 | $1,156 in-state / $9,892 out-of-state | $55,202 | 26% | Yes* | 61 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | El Camino Community College District | 51.4 | $1,144 in-state / $7,630 out-of-state | $60,046 | 42% | — | 127 mi |
| 6 | Los Angeles Pierce College | 44.6 | $1,238 in-state / $10,572 out-of-state | $48,321 | 46% | — | 102 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Los Angeles Valley College | 42.2 | $1,238 in-state / $10,572 out-of-state | $52,988 | 32% | — | 107 mi |
| 8 | Reedley College | 41.6 | $1,334 in-state / $10,154 out-of-state | $42,644 | 42% | — | 81 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Los Angeles Trade Technical College | 34.6 | $1,238 in-state / $10,572 out-of-state | $46,673 | 35% | — | 120 mi |
| 10 | Compton College | 25.2 | $1,142 in-state / $8,822 out-of-state | Not reported | 27% | Yes* | 131 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
California employs approximately 18,950 cnc machinists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $57,190 1. Nationally, cnc machinist employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 29,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CNC Machinist in California, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (California): $57,190 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CNC Machinist in California
How to become a CNC Machinist in California? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for cnc machinists in California.
How long does it take? Most paths into the cnc machinist field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do cnc machinists earn in California? The median annual wage for cnc machinists in California is $57,190 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,440 and experienced professionals can earn $88,280 or more 1.
How to Become a CNC Machinist in California
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most California training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in California that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to cnc machinists in California before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CNC Machinist Apprenticeship Information in California
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. California’s apprenticeship program is administered by the California Division of Apprenticeship Standards - Registered Apprenticeship 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: California Division of Apprenticeship Standards - Fresno Region
- Phone: (559) 445-5431
- Email: [email protected]
CNC Machinist Wages by Metro Area in California
Machinists Wages by Metro Area in California
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), machinists wages in California vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim | 7,850 | $55,660 | $57,130 | $36,980 | $80,320 |
| San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad | 2,180 | $61,420 | $64,530 | $40,300 | $86,970 |
| Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario | 1,810 | $49,440 | $54,960 | $35,980 | $77,510 |
| San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont | 1,610 | $67,750 | $76,240 | $45,850 | $125,980 |
| San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara | 1,370 | $63,540 | $69,020 | $44,350 | $97,750 |
| Sacramento-Roseville-Folsom | 600 | $57,900 | $62,070 | $38,370 | $93,410 |
| Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura | 540 | $56,530 | $59,210 | $39,320 | $78,420 |
| Fresno | 300 | $54,580 | $58,740 | $37,090 | $80,600 |
| Bakersfield-Delano | 250 | $50,680 | $58,670 | $35,540 | $92,350 |
| Santa Rosa-Petaluma | 230 | $56,200 | $60,000 | $39,320 | $80,390 |
| Stockton-Lodi | 220 | $50,920 | $54,190 | $36,040 | $76,640 |
| Vallejo | 150 | $59,850 | $67,080 | $46,890 | $93,580 |
| Modesto | 140 | $55,950 | $56,990 | $39,990 | $75,390 |
| Santa Maria-Santa Barbara | 130 | $58,690 | $62,340 | $40,640 | $89,890 |
| Visalia | 130 | $49,750 | $52,880 | $35,640 | $71,510 |
| San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles | 120 | $53,510 | $56,220 | $37,500 | $76,390 |
| Salinas | 90 | $56,490 | $62,140 | $38,590 | $97,150 |
| Santa Cruz-Watsonville | 70 | $51,420 | $58,420 | $38,650 | $92,140 |
| Redding | 60 | $55,260 | $64,700 | $38,780 | $134,750 |
| Chico | 40 | $46,580 | $57,520 | $37,270 | $116,480 |
| Merced | 40 | $47,130 | $49,800 | $38,500 | $69,150 |
| Yuba City | 30 | $56,820 | $65,470 | $36,500 | $106,870 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cnc machinists in California? California currently employs approximately 18,950 cnc machinists 1. Nationally, cnc machinist employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in California? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in California. You can also contact the California Division of Apprenticeship Standards - Registered Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do cnc machinists earn in California compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cnc machinists in California is $57,190, which is $1,040 above the national median of $56,150 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In California
Top local programs
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Adelanto, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Agoura Hills, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Alameda, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Alhambra, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Aliso Viejo, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in American Canyon, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Anaheim, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Antioch, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Apple Valley, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Arcadia, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Arroyo Grande, California (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Arvin, California (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in California (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in California
- Best HVAC Schools in California (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in California
- Best Plumbing Schools in California (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in California
Explore More Trades in California
- Electrician in California
- Plumber in California
- HVAC Technician in California
- Welder in California
- Carpenter in California
- Solar Installation Technician in California
- Auto Mechanic in California
- Certified Nursing Assistant in California
- Medical Assistant in California
- Massage Therapist in California
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
California Division of Apprenticeship Standards - Registered Apprenticeship: https://www.dir.ca.gov/databases/das/aigstart.asp ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |