How to Become a CNC Machinist in Georgia (2026)

Georgia employs about 6,090 cnc machinists earning a median $52,610 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most cnc machinists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Georgia.

Compare CNC Machinist Schools in Georgia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
154.3Contact school for pricing$47,299Not reportedYes*81 mi
254.3Contact school for pricing$47,00955%Yes*31 mi
Sponsored Ad
354.3Contact school for pricing$40,852Not reportedYes*61 mi
452.1Contact school for pricing$45,209Not reportedYes*78 mi
Sponsored Ad
551.3Contact school for pricing$44,75435%Yes*98 mi
651.0Contact school for pricing$43,83533%Yes*90 mi
Sponsored Ad
747.2Contact school for pricing$43,81824%Yes*65 mi
846.8$3,380 - $24,902$37,26554%Yes*64 mi
Sponsored Ad
946.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*30 mi
1045.7Contact school for pricing$44,62136%Yes*104 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Georgia employs approximately 6,090 cnc machinists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $52,610 1. Nationally, cnc machinist employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 29,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CNC Machinist in Georgia, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Georgia): $52,610 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a CNC Machinist in Georgia

How to become a CNC Machinist in Georgia? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for cnc machinists in Georgia.

How long does it take? Most paths into the cnc machinist field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do cnc machinists earn in Georgia? The median annual wage for cnc machinists in Georgia is $52,610 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,060 and experienced professionals can earn $77,420 or more 1.

How to Become a CNC Machinist in Georgia

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Georgia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Georgia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to cnc machinists in Georgia before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

CNC Machinist Apprenticeship Information in Georgia

Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years.

Contact Information:

  • Office: Chatham Apprentice Program - StepUp Savannah
  • Address: 428 Bull Street, Savannah, GA 31401
  • Phone: (912) 232-6747

CNC Machinist Wages by Metro Area in Georgia

Machinists Wages by Metro Area in Georgia

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), machinists wages in Georgia vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell2,500$56,270$57,010$37,690$80,140
Chattanooga730$51,540$54,340$37,230$69,870
Augusta-Richmond County370$67,140$67,460$44,070$100,820
Savannah330$60,680$60,580$41,770$79,380
Columbus310N/AN/AN/AN/A
Gainesville210$55,620$55,250$38,160$77,020
Athens-Clarke County120$56,010$55,170$37,440$72,330
Dalton120$48,240$49,990$34,810$65,460
Macon-Bibb County120$50,250$54,720$38,210$80,100
Warner Robins110$68,060$59,230$28,600$79,860
Rome90$62,220$66,340$39,280$106,650
Albany60$60,840$61,010$40,650$82,510
Valdosta50$48,710$50,570$35,420$67,650
Brunswick-St. Simons40$51,670$53,410$40,000$67,630

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for cnc machinists in Georgia? Georgia currently employs approximately 6,090 cnc machinists 1. Nationally, cnc machinist employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Georgia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Georgia.

How much do cnc machinists earn in Georgia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cnc machinists in Georgia is $52,610, which is $3,540 below the national median of $56,150 according to BLS data 1.

In Georgia

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Georgia

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)