How to Become a CNC Machinist in Kentucky (2026)
Kentucky employs about 6,040 cnc machinists earning a median $58,660 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most cnc machinists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Kentucky.
Compare CNC Machinist Schools in Kentucky
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Hartsville | 71.8 | Contact school for pricing | $51,479 | 79% | — | 104 mi |
| 2 | Great Oaks Career Campuses | 68.3 | Contact school for pricing | $52,299 | 74% | — | 117 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Murfreesboro | 66.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,879 | 75% | — | 144 mi |
| 4 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jacksboro | 65.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 116 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland | 64.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 125 mi |
| 6 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-McMinnville | 58.5 | Contact school for pricing | $49,364 | Not reported | — | 145 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology Nashville | 56.6 | Contact school for pricing | $41,766 | 70% | — | 135 mi |
| 8 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Livingston | 56.2 | Contact school for pricing | $39,535 | 76% | — | 93 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Harriman | 52.1 | Contact school for pricing | $44,754 | 70% | — | 132 mi |
| 10 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Oneida-Huntsville | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $41,875 | Not reported | — | 102 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kentucky employs approximately 6,040 cnc machinists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $58,660 1. The state’s concentration of cnc machinist jobs is 1.64x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, cnc machinist employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 29,500 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a CNC Machinist in Kentucky, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Kentucky): $58,660 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a CNC Machinist in Kentucky
How to become a CNC Machinist in Kentucky? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for cnc machinists in Kentucky.
How long does it take? Most paths into the cnc machinist field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do cnc machinists earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for cnc machinists in Kentucky is $58,660 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $39,070 and experienced professionals can earn $78,020 or more 1.
How to Become a CNC Machinist in Kentucky
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Kentucky training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Kentucky that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to cnc machinists in Kentucky before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
CNC Machinist Apprenticeship Information in Kentucky
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Kentucky’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Kentucky Office of Apprenticeship and Training 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Office of Employer and Apprenticeship Services
- Address: 500 Mero Street, Frankfort, KY 40601
- Phone: (502) 564-5920
- Email: [email protected]
CNC Machinist Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
Machinists Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), machinists wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 2,890 | $57,300 | $57,360 | $39,120 | $77,570 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 990 | $60,500 | $60,750 | $40,780 | $79,570 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 680 | $46,290 | $49,350 | $37,300 | $69,840 |
| Clarksville | 360 | $57,820 | $57,370 | $38,080 | $77,630 |
| Bowling Green | 260 | $51,730 | $55,260 | $40,050 | $66,180 |
| Paducah | 100 | $60,300 | $63,540 | $38,250 | $98,890 |
| Owensboro | 90 | $47,170 | $54,120 | $38,410 | $75,240 |
| Elizabethtown | 70 | $57,480 | $54,310 | $38,020 | $66,330 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cnc machinists in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 6,040 cnc machinists 1. Nationally, cnc machinist employment is projected to grow 0.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kentucky. You can also contact the Kentucky Office of Apprenticeship and Training for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do cnc machinists earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cnc machinists in Kentucky is $58,660, which is $2,510 above the national median of $56,150 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kentucky
Top local programs
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Ashland, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Bardstown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Berea, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Bowling Green, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Campbellsville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Covington, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Danville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Elizabethtown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Erlanger, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Florence, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Fort Thomas, Kentucky (2026)
- Best CNC Machinist Schools in Frankfort, Kentucky (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kentucky
- Best HVAC Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kentucky
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kentucky
Explore More Trades in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- HVAC Technician in Kentucky
- Welder in Kentucky
- Carpenter in Kentucky
- Solar Installation Technician in Kentucky
- Auto Mechanic in Kentucky
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kentucky
- Medical Assistant in Kentucky
- Massage Therapist in Kentucky
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Kentucky Office of Apprenticeship and Training: https://www.apprenticeship.gov/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |