How to Become a Construction Trades Worker in Oregon (2026)
Oregon employs about 12,620 construction trades workers earning a median $50,860 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most construction trades workers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Oregon.
Compare Construction Trades Worker Schools in Oregon
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Grays Harbor College | 71.6 | $5,593 - $15,708 | $46,936 | 35% | Yes* | 146 mi |
| 2 | Perry Technical Institute | 65.3 | Contact school for pricing | $63,923 | 78% | — | 139 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Bates Technical College | 65.2 | $6,027 - $18,837 | Not reported | 43% | Yes* | 152 mi |
| 4 | Clover Park Technical College | 63.9 | $6,634 - $18,882 | $51,699 | 42% | Yes* | 146 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Clackamas Community College | 57.1 | Contact school for pricing | $54,462 | 23% | Yes* | 19 mi |
| 6 | Centralia College | 56.5 | Contact school for pricing | $52,981 | 44% | — | 117 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Chemeketa Community College | 49.9 | Contact school for pricing | $50,594 | 22% | Yes* | 27 mi |
| 8 | Mt Hood Community College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $52,184 | 25% | Yes* | 32 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Portland Community College | 46.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,238 | Not reported | Yes* | 30 mi |
| 10 | Columbia Gorge Community College | 42.2 | $5,940 - $18,608 | $53,750 | 22% | — | 71 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Oregon employs approximately 12,620 construction trades workers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $50,860 1. Nationally, construction trades worker employment is projected to grow 7.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 129,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Construction Trades Worker in Oregon, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Oregon): $50,860 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Construction Trades Worker in Oregon
How to become a Construction Trades Worker in Oregon? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for construction trades workers in Oregon.
How long does it take? Most paths into the construction trades worker field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do construction trades workers earn in Oregon? The median annual wage for construction trades workers in Oregon is $50,860 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $39,210 and experienced professionals can earn $78,410 or more 1.
How to Become a Construction Trades Worker in Oregon
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Oregon training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Oregon that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to construction trades workers in Oregon before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Construction Trades Worker Apprenticeship Information in Oregon
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Oregon’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Oregon Apprenticeship and Training Division 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Apprenticeship and Training Division, Oregon State Bureau of Labor and Industries
- Address: 1800 SW 1st Ave, Portland, OR 97201
- Phone: (971) 245-3844
- Email: [email protected]
Construction Trades Worker Wages by Metro Area in Oregon
Construction Laborers Wages by Metro Area in Oregon
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), construction laborers wages in Oregon vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro | 7,950 | $54,240 | $58,080 | $38,990 | $82,700 |
| Salem | 1,690 | $54,500 | $55,900 | $39,480 | $76,760 |
| Eugene-Springfield | 1,010 | $47,530 | $51,530 | $38,800 | $72,110 |
| Bend | 780 | $52,760 | $56,260 | $40,470 | $76,450 |
| Medford | 520 | $49,350 | $52,840 | $38,670 | $69,220 |
| Albany | 370 | $51,470 | $54,250 | $40,300 | $72,250 |
| Grants Pass | 190 | $49,240 | $53,190 | $41,430 | $63,800 |
| Corvallis | 150 | $47,800 | $51,760 | $38,750 | $75,220 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for construction trades workers in Oregon? Oregon currently employs approximately 12,620 construction trades workers 1. Nationally, construction trades worker employment is projected to grow 7.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Oregon? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oregon. You can also contact the Oregon Apprenticeship and Training Division for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do construction trades workers earn in Oregon compared to the national average? The median annual wage for construction trades workers in Oregon is $50,860, which is $4,130 above the national median of $46,730 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Oregon
Top local programs
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Albany, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Ashland, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Astoria, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Beaverton, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Bend, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Brookings, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Canby, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Central Point, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Coos Bay, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Cornelius, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Corvallis, Oregon (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Cottage Grove, Oregon (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Oregon
- Best HVAC Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Oregon
- Best Plumbing Schools in Oregon (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Oregon
Explore More Trades in Oregon
- Electrician in Oregon
- Plumber in Oregon
- HVAC Technician in Oregon
- Welder in Oregon
- Carpenter in Oregon
- Solar Installation Technician in Oregon
- Auto Mechanic in Oregon
- CNC Machinist in Oregon
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Oregon
- Medical Assistant in Oregon
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Oregon Apprenticeship and Training Division: https://www.oregon.gov/boli/apprenticeship/pages/apprenticeship-opportunities.aspx ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |