How to Become a Construction Trades Worker in Utah (2026)
Utah employs about 20,950 construction trades workers earning a median $46,550 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most construction trades workers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Utah.
Compare Construction Trades Worker Schools in Utah
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Utah Valley University | 80.2 | Contact school for pricing | $66,978 | 43% | Yes* | 31 mi |
| 2 | Bridgerland Technical College | 73.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,070 | Not reported | Yes* | 75 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Weber State University | 72.8 | Contact school for pricing | $69,883 | 45% | Yes* | 36 mi |
| 4 | College of Southern Idaho | 68.2 | Contact school for pricing | $46,129 | 34% | Yes* | 183 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Ogden-Weber Technical College | 63.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,224 | 54% | Yes* | 41 mi |
| 6 | Casper College | 62.5 | Contact school for pricing | $46,963 | Not reported | Yes* | 328 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Snow College | 60.5 | Contact school for pricing | $38,946 | 45% | Yes* | 94 mi |
| 8 | Colorado Mesa University | 56.7 | Contact school for pricing | $58,601 | 41% | Yes* | 213 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | College of Western Idaho | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,903 | 29% | Yes* | 307 mi |
| 10 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 25 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Utah employs approximately 20,950 construction trades workers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,550 1. The state’s concentration of construction trades worker jobs is 1.71x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, construction trades worker employment is projected to grow 7.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 129,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Construction Trades Worker in Utah, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Utah): $46,550 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Construction Trades Worker in Utah
How to become a Construction Trades Worker in Utah? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for construction trades workers in Utah.
How long does it take? Most paths into the construction trades worker field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do construction trades workers earn in Utah? The median annual wage for construction trades workers in Utah is $46,550 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $34,890 and experienced professionals can earn $63,310 or more 1.
How to Become a Construction Trades Worker in Utah
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Utah training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Utah that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to construction trades workers in Utah before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Construction Trades Worker Apprenticeship Information in Utah
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Utah’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Department of Workforce Services - Office of Apprenticeship 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Salt Lake City Field Office
- Address: 125 S. State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84138
- Email: [email protected]
Construction Trades Worker Wages by Metro Area in Utah
Construction Laborers Wages by Metro Area in Utah
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), construction laborers wages in Utah vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City-Murray | 7,790 | $47,460 | $50,160 | $34,890 | $65,380 |
| Provo-Orem-Lehi | 4,760 | $46,640 | $46,420 | $26,880 | $61,960 |
| Ogden | 3,140 | $46,400 | $50,090 | $36,600 | $65,480 |
| St. George | 1,500 | $45,670 | $46,970 | $34,540 | $60,150 |
| Logan | 650 | $46,160 | $48,300 | $35,900 | $63,430 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for construction trades workers in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 20,950 construction trades workers 1. Nationally, construction trades worker employment is projected to grow 7.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah. You can also contact the Department of Workforce Services - Office of Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do construction trades workers earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for construction trades workers in Utah is $46,550, which is $180 below the national median of $46,730 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Utah
Top local programs
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Alpine, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in American Fork, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Bluffdale, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Bountiful, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Brigham City, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Cedar City, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Cedar Hills, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Centerville, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Clearfield, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Clinton, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Cottonwood Heights, Utah (2026)
- Best Construction Trades Schools in Draper, Utah (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Utah
- Best HVAC Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Utah
- Best Plumbing Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Utah
Explore More Trades in Utah
- Electrician in Utah
- Plumber in Utah
- HVAC Technician in Utah
- Welder in Utah
- Carpenter in Utah
- Solar Installation Technician in Utah
- Auto Mechanic in Utah
- CNC Machinist in Utah
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Utah
- Medical Assistant in Utah
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Workforce Services - Office of Apprenticeship: https://jobs.utah.gov/jsp/utjobs/seeker/ra ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |