How to Become a Cosmetologist in Alabama (2026)
Alabama employs about 3,300 cosmetologists earning a median $29,150 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Alabama
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University Academy of Hair Design | 62.0 | Contact school for pricing | $15,367 | 81% | — | 53 mi |
| 2 | George C Wallace State Community College-Hanceville | 52.6 | $5,220 in-state / $9,090 out-of-state | $50,276 | 51% | Yes* | 88 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Southern Union State Community College | 51.3 | $5,040 in-state / $8,910 out-of-state | $50,973 | 36% | Yes* | 74 mi |
| 4 | Brown Beauty Barber School | 45.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 83% | — | 42 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | George C Wallace State Community College-Selma | 44.0 | $4,740 in-state / $8,610 out-of-state | $41,578 | 41% | Yes* | 28 mi |
| 6 | Midfield Institute of Cosmetology | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 46 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Reid State Technical College | 41.9 | $5,454 in-state / $9,324 out-of-state | $53,929 | 59% | — | 93 mi |
| 8 | Central Alabama Community College | 39.3 | $5,110 in-state / $8,980 out-of-state | $50,615 | 33% | Yes* | 50 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Lawson State Community College | 38.3 | $5,040 in-state / $8,910 out-of-state | $44,506 | 27% | Yes* | 45 mi |
| 10 | Paul Mitchell the School-Birmingham | 32.4 | Contact school for pricing | $23,564 | 56% | — | 40 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Alabama employs approximately 3,300 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $29,150 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Alabama, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Licensing authority: Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Alabama): $29,150 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Alabama
How to become a Cosmetologist in Alabama? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering.
Do I need a license in Alabama? Yes. Alabama credentials this role through Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering 3. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Alabama? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Alabama is $29,150 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $21,300 and experienced professionals can earn $56,700 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Alabama
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Alabama’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Alabama
Cosmetologists in Alabama complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering 3.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Alabama
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Alabama
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Alabama vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birmingham | 1,050 | $29,000 | $33,800 | $21,830 | $55,230 |
| Huntsville | 550 | $29,150 | $33,040 | $21,050 | $55,920 |
| Mobile | 350 | $29,700 | $35,880 | $21,840 | $59,190 |
| Montgomery | 260 | $30,530 | $35,860 | $21,660 | $59,270 |
| Columbus | 210 | $29,790 | $35,140 | $16,790 | $62,150 |
| Tuscaloosa | 160 | $30,250 | $34,860 | $21,920 | $58,440 |
| Auburn-Opelika | 120 | $27,980 | $31,470 | $21,430 | $52,130 |
| Decatur | 90 | $28,430 | $33,180 | $23,050 | $54,530 |
| Dothan | 90 | $28,150 | $31,900 | $20,980 | $50,270 |
| Florence-Muscle Shoals | 50 | $28,550 | $31,760 | $21,060 | $45,010 |
| Gadsden | 40 | $27,070 | $27,800 | $21,770 | $35,210 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Alabama? Alabama currently employs approximately 3,300 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Alabama with an out-of-state license? Contact the Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Alabama? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Alabama.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Alabama compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Alabama is $29,150, which is $6,100 below the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Alabama
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Alabama
- Best HVAC Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Alabama
- Best Plumbing Schools in Alabama (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Alabama
Explore More Trades in Alabama
- Electrician in Alabama
- Plumber in Alabama
- HVAC Technician in Alabama
- Welder in Alabama
- Carpenter in Alabama
- Solar Installation Technician in Alabama
- Auto Mechanic in Alabama
- CNC Machinist in Alabama
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Alabama
- Medical Assistant in Alabama
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Alabama State Board of Cosmetology & Barbering - Licensing Information: https://www.aboc.alabama.gov ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |