How to Become a Cosmetologist in Arkansas (2026)
Arkansas employs about 1,410 cosmetologists earning a median $28,830 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Arkansas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Salon Professional Academy | 73.0 | Contact school for pricing | $28,025 | 90% | — | 12 mi |
| 2 | Washington Barber College Inc | 48.3 | Contact school for pricing | $22,065 | 89% | — | 19 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Velvatex College of Beauty Culture | 46.1 | Contact school for pricing | $14,155 | 64% | — | 18 mi |
| 4 | University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College | 41.7 | $6,300 in-state / $9,450 out-of-state | $41,807 | 36% | Yes* | 13 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Paul Mitchell the School-Little Rock | 40.5 | Contact school for pricing | $23,346 | 71% | — | 15 mi |
| 6 | GoodFellas Barber College | 37.0 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 28% | — | 17 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Searcy Beauty College | 30.5 | Contact school for pricing | $15,982 | 55% | — | 41 mi |
| 8 | Arthur's Beauty College | 28.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 39% | — | 10 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Arthur's Beauty College | 27.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 79% | — | 16 mi |
| 10 | New Tyler Barber College Inc | 18.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 20% | — | 16 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Arkansas employs approximately 1,410 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $28,830 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Arkansas, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Licensing authority: Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Arkansas): $28,830 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Arkansas
How to become a Cosmetologist in Arkansas? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health.
Do I need a license in Arkansas? Yes. Arkansas credentials this role through Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health 3. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Arkansas? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Arkansas is $28,830 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $23,920 and experienced professionals can earn $49,990 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Arkansas
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Arkansas’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Arkansas
Cosmetologists in Arkansas complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health 3.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Arkansas vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memphis | 1,000 | $30,980 | $35,980 | $25,370 | $48,120 |
| Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers | 540 | $30,410 | $36,940 | $24,410 | $49,990 |
| Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway | 470 | $27,790 | $31,840 | $23,980 | $47,690 |
| Jonesboro | 90 | $27,570 | $30,310 | $23,790 | $37,080 |
| Fort Smith | 70 | $28,090 | $31,520 | $23,640 | $46,110 |
| Texarkana | 50 | $27,750 | $33,030 | $21,710 | $57,550 |
| Hot Springs | 40 | $28,680 | $30,880 | $23,200 | $39,820 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Arkansas? Arkansas currently employs approximately 1,410 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Arkansas with an out-of-state license? Contact the Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Arkansas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arkansas.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Arkansas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Arkansas is $28,830, which is $6,420 below the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Arkansas
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Arkansas
- Best HVAC Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Arkansas
- Best Plumbing Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Arkansas
Explore More Trades in Arkansas
- Electrician in Arkansas
- Plumber in Arkansas
- HVAC Technician in Arkansas
- Welder in Arkansas
- Carpenter in Arkansas
- Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas
- Auto Mechanic in Arkansas
- CNC Machinist in Arkansas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Arkansas
- Medical Assistant in Arkansas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Arkansas Department of Health - Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section - Board of Health - Licensing Information: https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/cosmetology ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |