How to Become a Cosmetologist in Connecticut (2026)
Connecticut employs about 4,090 cosmetologists earning a median $44,620 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Connecticut
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Belle Academy of Cosmetology LLC | 80.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 14 mi |
| 2 | Branford Academy of Hair & Cosmetology | 77.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 100% | — | 24 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Eastern Suffolk BOCES | 70.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 86% | — | 48 mi |
| 4 | Oxford Academy of Hair Design Inc | 67.9 | Contact school for pricing | $24,143 | 77% | — | 21 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | International Institute of Cosmetology | 57.1 | Contact school for pricing | $28,922 | 80% | — | 9 mi |
| 6 | Long Island Beauty School-Hauppauge | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $27,302 | 75% | — | 59 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Academy Di Capelli-School of Cosmetology | 49.3 | Contact school for pricing | $27,498 | 70% | — | 12 mi |
| 8 | Paul Mitchell the School-North Haven | 48.1 | Contact school for pricing | $31,288 | 92% | — | 16 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | TIGI Hairdressing Academy Newtown | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $30,451 | 81% | — | 30 mi |
| 10 | Dolce The Academy | 38.3 | Contact school for pricing | $25,726 | 56% | — | 12 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Connecticut employs approximately 4,090 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,620 1. The state’s concentration of cosmetologist jobs is 1.23x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Connecticut, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Licensing authority: Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Connecticut): $44,620 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Connecticut
How to become a Cosmetologist in Connecticut? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section.
Do I need a license in Connecticut? Yes. Connecticut credentials this role through Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section 3. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Connecticut? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Connecticut is $44,620 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $34,010 and experienced professionals can earn $72,620 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Connecticut
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Connecticut’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Connecticut
Cosmetologists in Connecticut complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section 3.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Connecticut
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Connecticut vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury | 1,500 | $46,470 | $52,040 | $34,010 | $73,820 |
| Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford | 1,180 | $42,650 | $47,650 | $34,010 | $70,920 |
| New Haven | 570 | $36,480 | $47,150 | $34,010 | $71,950 |
| Waterbury-Shelton | 430 | $36,430 | $46,180 | $34,010 | $62,290 |
| Norwich-New London-Willimantic | 280 | $44,270 | $48,770 | $34,010 | $71,530 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Connecticut? Connecticut currently employs approximately 4,090 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Connecticut with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Connecticut? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Connecticut.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Connecticut compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Connecticut is $44,620, which is $9,370 above the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Connecticut
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Connecticut
- Best HVAC Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Connecticut
- Best Plumbing Schools in Connecticut (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Connecticut
Explore More Trades in Connecticut
- Electrician in Connecticut
- Plumber in Connecticut
- HVAC Technician in Connecticut
- Welder in Connecticut
- Carpenter in Connecticut
- Solar Installation Technician in Connecticut
- Auto Mechanic in Connecticut
- CNC Machinist in Connecticut
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Connecticut
- Medical Assistant in Connecticut
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Public Health - Health Care Systems Branch - Practitioner Licensing & Investigations Section - Licensing Information: https://www.dph.state.ct.us/licensure/licensure.htm ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |