How to Become a Cosmetologist in Indiana (2026)
Indiana employs about 5,920 cosmetologists earning a median $32,830 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Indiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Christina and Company Education Center | 73.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 93% | — | 33 mi |
| 2 | Aveda Fredric's Institute-Indianapolis | 51.8 | Contact school for pricing | $36,384 | 79% | — | 29 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Paul Mitchell the School-Indianapolis | 47.4 | Contact school for pricing | $32,626 | 65% | — | 42 mi |
| 4 | Textures Institute of Cosmetology | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 31 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Summit Salon Academy | 42.5 | Contact school for pricing | $28,959 | 72% | — | 36 mi |
| 6 | Tricoci University of Beauty Culture-Lafayette | 33.0 | Contact school for pricing | $27,128 | 57% | — | 37 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Taylor Institute of Cosmetology II | 32.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 43% | — | 67 mi |
| 8 | Summit Salon Academy-Kokomo | 29.9 | Contact school for pricing | $29,283 | 64% | — | 8 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Tricoci University of Beauty Culture-Indianapolis | 29.4 | Contact school for pricing | $27,128 | 58% | — | 32 mi |
| 10 | Empire Beauty School-Indianapolis | 27.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 50 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Indiana employs approximately 5,920 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $32,830 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Indiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Licensing authority: Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Indiana): $32,830 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Indiana
How to become a Cosmetologist in Indiana? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
Do I need a license in Indiana? Yes. Indiana credentials this role through Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners 3. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Indiana? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Indiana is $32,830 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $23,890 and experienced professionals can earn $58,620 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Indiana
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Indiana’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Indiana
Cosmetologists in Indiana complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners 3.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Indiana
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Indiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Indiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin | 12,000 | $34,260 | $39,760 | $31,200 | $58,960 |
| Cincinnati | 2,540 | $36,790 | $46,010 | $24,230 | $80,150 |
| Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood | 2,240 | $34,380 | $38,160 | $23,890 | $62,640 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 930 | $33,620 | $46,780 | $23,580 | $89,750 |
| Fort Wayne | 470 | $29,950 | $35,200 | $23,360 | $50,410 |
| South Bend-Mishawaka | 310 | $30,770 | $35,100 | $23,350 | $47,540 |
| Evansville | 270 | $29,700 | $34,390 | $23,240 | $49,530 |
| Lafayette-West Lafayette | 220 | $31,270 | $36,110 | $24,130 | $50,900 |
| Bloomington | 120 | $30,360 | $32,920 | $23,230 | $45,880 |
| Elkhart-Goshen | 100 | $29,780 | $34,810 | $23,900 | $49,530 |
| Kokomo | 90 | $30,320 | $38,930 | $21,940 | $61,290 |
| Michigan City-La Porte | 90 | $30,820 | $35,190 | $24,090 | $47,300 |
| Terre Haute | 90 | $28,280 | $32,160 | $22,990 | $46,670 |
| Muncie | 60 | $31,020 | $34,640 | $24,730 | $49,760 |
| Columbus | 40 | $31,300 | $32,950 | $25,830 | $48,260 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Indiana? Indiana currently employs approximately 5,920 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Indiana with an out-of-state license? Contact the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Indiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Indiana.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Indiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Indiana is $32,830, which is $2,420 below the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Indiana
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Indiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Indiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Indiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Indiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Indiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Indiana
Explore More Trades in Indiana
- Electrician in Indiana
- Plumber in Indiana
- HVAC Technician in Indiana
- Welder in Indiana
- Carpenter in Indiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Indiana
- Auto Mechanic in Indiana
- CNC Machinist in Indiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Indiana
- Medical Assistant in Indiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Indiana Professional Licensing Agency - State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners - Licensing Information: https://www.in.gov/pla/cosmo.htm ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |