How to Become a Cosmetologist in Kansas (2026)
Kansas employs about 2,190 cosmetologists earning a median $29,710 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Kansas Board of Cosmetology.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Kansas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Washburn Institute of Technology | 71.0 | $8,880 | $56,774 | 68% | Yes* | 86 mi |
| 2 | Eric Fisher Academy | 66.2 | Contact school for pricing | $30,951 | 85% | — | 51 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Hutchinson Community College | 57.3 | $3,540 in-state / $4,770 out-of-state | $49,591 | 53% | Yes* | 49 mi |
| 4 | Sami Halaseh Institute | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 73% | — | 47 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Hays Academy of Hair Design | 54.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 86% | — | 41 mi |
| 6 | Cowley County Community College | 52.2 | $4,800 in-state / $6,600 out-of-state | $42,324 | 45% | Yes* | 92 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Ponca City Beauty College | 52.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 82% | — | 114 mi |
| 8 | Crave Beauty Academy | 48.1 | Contact school for pricing | $27,679 | 73% | — | 51 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Paul Mitchell the School-Wichita | 47.1 | Contact school for pricing | $28,216 | 76% | — | 45 mi |
| 10 | Independence Community College | 45.4 | $4,560 in-state / $4,950 out-of-state | $34,293 | 26% | Yes* | 112 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kansas employs approximately 2,190 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $29,710 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Kansas, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Licensing authority: Kansas Board of Cosmetology
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Kansas): $29,710 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Kansas
How to become a Cosmetologist in Kansas? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Kansas Board of Cosmetology.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Kansas Board of Cosmetology.
Do I need a license in Kansas? Yes. Kansas credentials this role through Kansas Board of Cosmetology 3. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Kansas? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Kansas is $29,710 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $21,910 and experienced professionals can earn $77,790 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Kansas
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Kansas Board of Cosmetology. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Kansas’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Kansas Board of Cosmetology; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Kansas Board of Cosmetology uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Kansas Board of Cosmetology before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Kansas
Cosmetologists in Kansas complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Kansas Board of Cosmetology for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Kansas Board of Cosmetology 3.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to Kansas Board of Cosmetology for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Kansas Board of Cosmetology before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Kansas
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Kansas
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Kansas vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kansas City | 2,220 | $31,520 | $41,280 | $28,300 | $79,350 |
| Wichita | 460 | $28,340 | $36,770 | $21,570 | $77,640 |
| Topeka | 140 | $29,160 | $37,350 | $22,340 | $75,100 |
| Manhattan | 130 | $29,700 | $37,170 | $23,320 | $73,480 |
| Joplin | 130 | $28,600 | $32,300 | $28,600 | $37,110 |
| Lawrence | 100 | $36,180 | $40,990 | $22,420 | $78,540 |
| St. Joseph | 40 | $28,730 | $33,050 | $28,600 | $36,800 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Kansas? Kansas currently employs approximately 2,190 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Kansas with an out-of-state license? Contact the Kansas Board of Cosmetology for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Kansas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kansas.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Kansas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Kansas is $29,710, which is $5,540 below the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kansas
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kansas (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kansas
- Best HVAC Schools in Kansas (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kansas
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kansas (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kansas
Explore More Trades in Kansas
- Electrician in Kansas
- Plumber in Kansas
- HVAC Technician in Kansas
- Welder in Kansas
- Carpenter in Kansas
- Solar Installation Technician in Kansas
- Auto Mechanic in Kansas
- CNC Machinist in Kansas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kansas
- Medical Assistant in Kansas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Kansas Board of Cosmetology - Licensing Information: https://www.kansas.gov/kboc/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |