How to Become a Cosmetologist in Kentucky (2026)

Kentucky employs about 2,350 cosmetologists earning a median $29,840 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology.

Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Kentucky

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
1Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported—56 mi
251.0$4,808 in-state / $6,512 out-of-state$48,18143%Yes*49 mi
Sponsored Ad
339.3Contact school for pricing$27,55957%—32 mi
438.5Contact school for pricing$27,27055%—52 mi
Sponsored Ad
537.3Contact school for pricing$27,46879%—46 mi
635.9Contact school for pricing$25,64063%Yes*49 mi
Sponsored Ad
735.1Contact school for pricing$27,83273%—40 mi
826.9Contact school for pricing$24,50651%—30 mi
Sponsored Ad
923.4Contact school for pricing$25,81052%—40 mi
1023.1Contact school for pricing$26,41869%—46 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Kentucky employs approximately 2,350 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $29,840 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Kentucky, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
  • Licensing authority: Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology
  • Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
  • Median wage (Kentucky): $29,840 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Kentucky

How to become a Cosmetologist in Kentucky? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology.

How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology.

Do I need a license in Kentucky? Yes. Kentucky credentials this role through Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology 3. See the licensing section below.

What do cosmetologists earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Kentucky is $29,840 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $22,580 and experienced professionals can earn $76,170 or more 1.

How to Become a Cosmetologist in Kentucky

  1. Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
  2. Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Kentucky’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
  3. Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
  4. Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology before taking paying clients.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Cosmetologist License Requirements in Kentucky

Cosmetologists in Kentucky complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet board entry rules.

  2. Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.

  3. Pass written and practical exams.

  4. Apply to Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology for the practitioner license.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology before you enroll.

Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky

Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Cincinnati2,540$36,790$46,010$24,230$80,150
Louisville/Jefferson County930$33,620$46,780$23,580$89,750
Lexington-Fayette530$29,230$37,880$22,580$63,230
Clarksville160$29,900$33,630$22,280$47,800
Huntington-Ashland140$29,580$37,560$21,880$58,250
Bowling Green100$28,580$38,580$23,260$56,210
Elizabethtown70$28,390$39,380$22,280$76,790
Owensboro40$27,890$36,960$22,530$74,380
Paducah40$28,350$35,550$22,250$71,840

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 2,350 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a cosmetologist in Kentucky with an out-of-state license? Contact the Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kentucky.

How much do cosmetologists earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Kentucky is $29,840, which is $5,410 below the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.

In Kentucky

Explore More Trades in Kentucky

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Commonwealth of Kentucky - Board of Cosmetology - Licensing Information: http://kbc.ky.gov ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)