How to Become a Cosmetologist in Nebraska (2026)

Nebraska employs about 1,890 cosmetologists earning a median $34,320 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services.

Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Nebraska

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.0$8,880$56,77468%Yes*152 mi
265.3Contact school for pricing$34,29688%—169 mi
Sponsored Ad
364.5Contact school for pricing$28,97087%—48 mi
454.6Contact school for pricingNot reported86%—155 mi
Sponsored Ad
552.2Contact school for pricingNot reported82%—50 mi
645.7Contact school for pricing$26,83888%—22 mi
Sponsored Ad
740.6Contact school for pricingNot reported76%—60 mi
839.4Contact school for pricing$27,34674%—128 mi
Sponsored Ad
933.3Contact school for pricing$23,14872%—103 mi
1033.2Contact school for pricing$29,00760%—26 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Nebraska employs approximately 1,890 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $34,320 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Nebraska, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Nebraska

How to become a Cosmetologist in Nebraska? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services.

How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services.

Do I need a license in Nebraska? Yes. Nebraska credentials this role through Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services 3. See the licensing section below.

What do cosmetologists earn in Nebraska? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Nebraska is $34,320 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $28,080 and experienced professionals can earn $73,740 or more 1.

How to Become a Cosmetologist in Nebraska

  1. Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
  2. Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Nebraska’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
  3. Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
  4. Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services before taking paying clients.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Cosmetologist License Requirements in Nebraska

Cosmetologists in Nebraska complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet board entry rules.

  2. Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.

  3. Pass written and practical exams.

  4. Apply to Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services for the practitioner license.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services before you enroll.

Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska

Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Nebraska vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Omaha1,220$36,390$46,900$28,080$75,130
Lincoln340$30,440$38,170$28,080$60,900
Sioux City100$30,330$33,870$23,330$48,450
Grand Island60$30,740$36,670$28,080$58,110

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Nebraska? Nebraska currently employs approximately 1,890 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a cosmetologist in Nebraska with an out-of-state license? Contact the Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Nebraska? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nebraska.

How much do cosmetologists earn in Nebraska compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Nebraska is $34,320, which is $930 below the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.

In Nebraska

Explore More Trades in Nebraska

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Public Health Division, Licensure Unit, Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services - Licensing Information: https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/professions-and-occupations.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)