How to Become a Cosmetologist in Nevada (2026)
Nevada employs about 1,940 cosmetologists earning a median $33,840 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Board of Cosmetology.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Nevada
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Princess Institute of Beauty | 66.2 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 91% | — | 160 mi |
| 2 | Sierra Academy of Style | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 76% | — | 167 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Avalon Institute-Las Vegas | 55.1 | Contact school for pricing | $33,261 | 84% | — | 163 mi |
| 4 | Academy of Hair Design-Las Vegas | 51.9 | Contact school for pricing | $25,688 | 85% | — | 161 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Casal Institute of Nevada | 48.4 | Contact school for pricing | $30,042 | 70% | — | 168 mi |
| 6 | College of the Sequoias | 47.3 | $1,394 in-state / $9,038 out-of-state | $44,147 | 39% | — | 167 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Estes Institute of Cosmetology Arts and Science | 44.7 | Contact school for pricing | $24,594 | 85% | — | 166 mi |
| 8 | Institute of Technology | 44.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,172 | 73% | — | 165 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Milan Institute-Clovis | 32.6 | Contact school for pricing | $29,355 | 63% | — | 166 mi |
| 10 | Milan Institute-Las Vegas | 28.1 | Contact school for pricing | $29,355 | 58% | — | 162 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Nevada employs approximately 1,940 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $33,840 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Nevada, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Licensing authority: Board of Cosmetology
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Nevada): $33,840 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Nevada
How to become a Cosmetologist in Nevada? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Board of Cosmetology.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Board of Cosmetology.
Do I need a license in Nevada? Yes. Nevada credentials this role through Board of Cosmetology 3. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Nevada? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Nevada is $33,840 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $26,160 and experienced professionals can earn $64,300 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Nevada
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Board of Cosmetology. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Nevada’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Board of Cosmetology; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Board of Cosmetology uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Board of Cosmetology before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Nevada
Cosmetologists in Nevada complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Board of Cosmetology for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Board of Cosmetology 3.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to Board of Cosmetology for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Board of Cosmetology before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Nevada
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Nevada
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Nevada vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Las Vegas-Henderson-North Las Vegas | 1,420 | $30,530 | $38,580 | $26,160 | $69,250 |
| Reno | 380 | $36,490 | $40,540 | $26,280 | $59,800 |
| Carson City | 50 | $35,350 | $37,910 | $26,350 | $48,810 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Nevada? Nevada currently employs approximately 1,940 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Nevada with an out-of-state license? Contact the Board of Cosmetology for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Nevada? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nevada.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Nevada compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Nevada is $33,840, which is $1,410 below the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Nevada
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Nevada
- Best HVAC Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Nevada
- Best Plumbing Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Nevada
Explore More Trades in Nevada
- Electrician in Nevada
- Plumber in Nevada
- HVAC Technician in Nevada
- Welder in Nevada
- Carpenter in Nevada
- Solar Installation Technician in Nevada
- Auto Mechanic in Nevada
- CNC Machinist in Nevada
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Nevada
- Medical Assistant in Nevada
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Board of Cosmetology - Licensing Information: https://www.nvcosmo.com ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |