How to Become a Cosmetologist in New Mexico (2026)

New Mexico employs about 1,230 cosmetologists earning a median $37,750 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.

Compare Cosmetologist Schools in New Mexico

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
173.8Contact school for pricingNot reported94%—79 mi
268.6Contact school for pricing$28,17588%—86 mi
Sponsored Ad
3Not ratedContact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported—96 mi
459.1Contact school for pricing$31,03278%—81 mi
Sponsored Ad
553.3Contact school for pricing$29,37275%—101 mi
651.8$2,060 in-state / $8,684 out-of-state$48,65231%Yes*82 mi
Sponsored Ad
746.6$1,592 in-state / $3,344 out-of-state$59,17134%Yes*139 mi
846.0$6,400 in-state / $14,328 out-of-state$61,77429%Yes*123 mi
Sponsored Ad
943.4$1,474 in-state / $3,418 out-of-state$38,11128%Yes*96 mi
1040.3Contact school for pricing$20,26669%—150 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

New Mexico employs approximately 1,230 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $37,750 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in New Mexico, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in New Mexico

How to become a Cosmetologist in New Mexico? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.

How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.

Do I need a license in New Mexico? Yes. New Mexico credentials this role through New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists 3. See the licensing section below.

What do cosmetologists earn in New Mexico? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in New Mexico is $37,750 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $27,190 and experienced professionals can earn $52,560 or more 1.

How to Become a Cosmetologist in New Mexico

  1. Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
  2. Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets New Mexico’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
  3. Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
  4. Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists before taking paying clients.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Cosmetologist License Requirements in New Mexico

Cosmetologists in New Mexico complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet board entry rules.

  2. Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.

  3. Pass written and practical exams.

  4. Apply to New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists for the practitioner license.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists before you enroll.

Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico

Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in New Mexico

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in New Mexico vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Albuquerque850$38,330$40,170$27,600$50,030
Santa Fe100$30,990$37,210$30,160$48,600
Farmington50$27,360$30,800$26,900$43,150

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in New Mexico? New Mexico currently employs approximately 1,230 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a cosmetologist in New Mexico with an out-of-state license? Contact the New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in New Mexico? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in New Mexico.

How much do cosmetologists earn in New Mexico compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in New Mexico is $37,750, which is $2,500 above the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.

In New Mexico

Explore More Trades in New Mexico

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department - Boards and Commissions Division - New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists - Licensing Information: https://www.rld.nm.gov/boards-and-commissions/individual-boards-and-commissions/barbers-and-cosmetologists-overview/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)