How to Become a Cosmetologist in Pennsylvania (2026)
Pennsylvania employs about 19,350 cosmetologists earning a median $36,790 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license, then applying through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Pennsylvania
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | York County School of Technology-Adult & Continuing Education | 77.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,902 | 90% | — | 33 mi |
| 2 | Barber and Beauty Academy of Pennsylvania | 73.7 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 96% | — | 8 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Lancaster School of Cosmetology & Therapeutic Bodywork | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $34,264 | 70% | — | 42 mi |
| 4 | Empire Beauty School-Lancaster | 54.2 | Contact school for pricing | $26,908 | 85% | — | 39 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Empire Beauty School-Hanover | 48.7 | Contact school for pricing | $25,392 | 84% | — | 40 mi |
| 6 | Cutting Edge Barber Academy | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 41 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Empire Beauty School-Lebanon | 44.7 | Contact school for pricing | $26,668 | 68% | — | 28 mi |
| 8 | Empire Beauty School-Shamokin Dam | 43.7 | Contact school for pricing | $26,908 | 82% | — | 34 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Empire Beauty School-York | 41.1 | Contact school for pricing | $27,559 | 74% | — | 31 mi |
| 10 | World A Cuts Barber Institute | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 30 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Pennsylvania employs approximately 19,350 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,790 1. The state’s concentration of cosmetologist jobs is 1.62x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Pennsylvania, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Licensing authority: Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Pennsylvania): $36,790 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Pennsylvania
How to become a Cosmetologist in Pennsylvania? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board.
Do I need a license in Pennsylvania? Yes. Pennsylvania credentials this role through Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board 3. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Pennsylvania? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Pennsylvania is $36,790 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $23,700 and experienced professionals can earn $68,750 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Pennsylvania
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Pennsylvania’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Pennsylvania
Cosmetologists in Pennsylvania complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board. See Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board 3.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Pennsylvania vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 9,960 | $37,320 | $43,990 | $28,600 | $64,530 |
| Pittsburgh | 4,190 | $38,100 | $43,800 | $23,750 | $77,730 |
| Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton | 1,350 | $37,690 | $48,540 | $28,490 | $95,840 |
| Harrisburg-Carlisle | 840 | $30,550 | $40,640 | $17,530 | $78,500 |
| Lancaster | 840 | $35,510 | $42,250 | $28,400 | $63,350 |
| Scranton--Wilkes-Barre | 670 | $35,540 | $41,990 | $23,900 | $68,580 |
| Reading | 620 | $36,350 | $43,980 | $27,700 | $65,100 |
| York-Hanover | 510 | $36,050 | $42,530 | $23,140 | $74,850 |
| Erie | 410 | $35,540 | $41,720 | $23,400 | $78,240 |
| Altoona | 270 | $30,090 | $37,800 | $23,440 | $58,660 |
| State College | 240 | $36,540 | $42,830 | $24,080 | $76,920 |
| Lebanon | 200 | $37,920 | $45,880 | $22,610 | $78,950 |
| Johnstown | 170 | $34,720 | $40,770 | $22,920 | $66,370 |
| Williamsport | 130 | $30,580 | $39,280 | $21,050 | $77,070 |
| Gettysburg | 70 | $36,100 | $41,550 | $26,850 | $60,270 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Pennsylvania? Pennsylvania currently employs approximately 19,350 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Pennsylvania with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Pennsylvania? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Pennsylvania.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Pennsylvania compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Pennsylvania is $36,790, which is $1,540 above the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Pennsylvania
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Pennsylvania
- Best HVAC Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Pennsylvania
- Best Plumbing Schools in Pennsylvania (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Pennsylvania
Explore More Trades in Pennsylvania
- Electrician in Pennsylvania
- Plumber in Pennsylvania
- HVAC Technician in Pennsylvania
- Welder in Pennsylvania
- Carpenter in Pennsylvania
- Solar Installation Technician in Pennsylvania
- Auto Mechanic in Pennsylvania
- CNC Machinist in Pennsylvania
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Pennsylvania
- Medical Assistant in Pennsylvania
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of State - Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs - Cosmetology Board - Licensing Information: https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Cosmetology/Pages/default.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |