How to Become a Cosmetologist in Rhode Island (2026)
Rhode Island employs about 1,470 cosmetologists earning a median $31,200 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Cosmetologist here means completing a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Cosmetologist Schools in Rhode Island
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Jupiter Beauty Academy | 72.6 | Contact school for pricing | $34,620 | 84% | — | 40 mi |
| 2 | Tri County Regional Vocational Technical High School | 67.8 | Contact school for pricing | $64,044 | 70% | — | 21 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | COLLECTIV Academy-Worcester | 54.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 81% | — | 39 mi |
| 4 | Southeastern Technical Institute | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $48,037 | 74% | — | 24 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | COLLECTIV Academy-Cranston | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 78% | — | 4 mi |
| 6 | Rob Roy Academy-Fall River | 48.5 | Contact school for pricing | $19,985 | 87% | — | 15 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Rob Roy Academy-Worcester | 47.3 | Contact school for pricing | $29,694 | 90% | — | 38 mi |
| 8 | Empire Beauty School-Warwick | 40.9 | Contact school for pricing | $26,762 | 88% | — | 2 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Empire Beauty School-Malden | 37.1 | Contact school for pricing | $27,559 | 78% | — | 48 mi |
| 10 | Paul Mitchell the School-Rhode Island | 31.7 | Contact school for pricing | $31,116 | 79% | — | 3 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Rhode Island employs approximately 1,470 cosmetologists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $31,200 1. The state’s concentration of cosmetologist jobs is 1.49x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 75,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Cosmetologist in Rhode Island, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: board-approved cosmetology or barbering program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license
- Exam: state written and practical exams (often NIC)
- Median wage (Rhode Island): $31,200 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Cosmetologist in Rhode Island
How to become a Cosmetologist in Rhode Island? Complete a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a board-approved beauty program that meets this state’s hour requirement, written and practical exams, and a practitioner license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Rhode Island? Yes. Rhode Island typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do cosmetologists earn in Rhode Island? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Rhode Island is $31,200 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,200 and experienced professionals can earn $38,630 or more 1.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Rhode Island
- Meet board entry rules. Confirm age and education rules with the program and employer. Do not treat minimum age as years of work experience.
- Complete a board-approved program. Finish a school program that meets Rhode Island’s current hour requirement. Confirm the total with the program and employer; do not copy another state’s hours. This is not a DAS registered apprenticeship, though some boards offer a shop-apprentice route.
- Pass written and practical exams. Pass the exams the program and employer uses (often NIC). Instructor and shop licenses are later rungs, not the first practitioner license.
- Apply for the practitioner license. Apply to the program and employer before taking paying clients.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Cosmetologist License Requirements in Rhode Island
Cosmetologists in Rhode Island complete board-approved school hours, pass written and practical exams, and apply to the program and employer for a practitioner license. Hour totals are set by that board.
Typical path
Meet board entry rules.
Complete a board-approved program for this state’s hours.
Pass written and practical exams.
Apply to the program and employer for the practitioner license.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Cosmetologist Wages by Metro Area in Rhode Island
Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists Wages by Metro Area in Rhode Island
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists wages in Rhode Island vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Providence-Warwick | 2,120 | $31,200 | $40,070 | $31,200 | $65,430 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for cosmetologists in Rhode Island? Rhode Island currently employs approximately 1,470 cosmetologists 1. Nationally, cosmetologist employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a cosmetologist in Rhode Island with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Rhode Island? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Rhode Island.
How much do cosmetologists earn in Rhode Island compared to the national average? The median annual wage for cosmetologists in Rhode Island is $31,200, which is $4,050 below the national median of $35,250 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Rhode Island
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Rhode Island (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Rhode Island
- Best HVAC Schools in Rhode Island (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Rhode Island
- Best Plumbing Schools in Rhode Island (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Rhode Island
Explore More Trades in Rhode Island
- Electrician in Rhode Island
- Plumber in Rhode Island
- HVAC Technician in Rhode Island
- Welder in Rhode Island
- Carpenter in Rhode Island
- Solar Installation Technician in Rhode Island
- Auto Mechanic in Rhode Island
- CNC Machinist in Rhode Island
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Rhode Island
- Medical Assistant in Rhode Island
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |