How to Become a Culinary Professional in Delaware (2026)
Delaware employs about 5,280 culinary professionals earning a median $37,840 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in Delaware.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Delaware): $37,840/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Delaware: 5,280 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.20x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 14.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Culinary Professional Schools in Delaware
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rowan College at Burlington County | 65.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,060 | 37% | Yes* | 53 mi |
| 2 | Bucks County Community College | 60.0 | $5,683 - $13,963 | $52,637 | 30% | Yes* | 66 mi |
| 3 | Salem Community College | 54.5 | Contact school for pricing | $50,664 | 39% | Yes* | 22 mi |
| 4 | Montgomery County Community College | 52.9 | Contact school for pricing | $53,324 | 26% | Yes* | 56 mi |
| 5 | Delaware County Community College | 50.1 | $6,930 - $15,540 | $56,647 | 22% | Yes* | 41 mi |
| 6 | Delaware Technical Community College-Terry | 48.4 | Contact school for pricing | $55,102 | Not reported | Yes* | 13 mi |
| 7 | Chesapeake College | 47.5 | Contact school for pricing | $52,363 | 27% | Yes* | 42 mi |
| 8 | Walnut Hill College | 45.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,016 | 59% | — | 43 mi |
| 9 | Community College of Philadelphia | 36.8 | Contact school for pricing | $50,788 | 22% | Yes* | 44 mi |
| 10 | Atlantic Cape Community College | 36.1 | Contact school for pricing | $47,694 | Not reported | Yes* | 45 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Delaware employs approximately 5,280 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $37,840 1. The state’s concentration of culinary professional jobs is 1.20x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in Delaware, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Delaware): $37,840 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in Delaware
How to become a Culinary Professional in Delaware? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in Delaware.
How long does it take? culinary professional training length in Delaware varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do culinary professionals earn in Delaware? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Delaware is $37,840 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,250 and experienced professionals can earn $46,940 or more 1.
How to Become a Culinary Professional in Delaware
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Delaware training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in Delaware that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in Delaware before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Delaware
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Delaware vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 34,330 | $42,757 | $44,373 | $31,888 | $57,143 |
| Dover | 700 | $38,464 | $39,722 | $32,992 | $48,959 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in Delaware? Delaware currently employs approximately 5,280 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Delaware? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Delaware.
How much do culinary professionals earn in Delaware compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Delaware is $37,840, which is $1,010 above the national median of $36,830 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Delaware
Top local programs
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Dover, Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Georgetown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Lewes, Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Middletown, Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Milford, Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Millsboro, Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Newark, Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Ocean View, Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Smyrna, Delaware (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Wilmington, Delaware (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Delaware
- Best HVAC Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Delaware
- Best Plumbing Schools in Delaware (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Delaware
Explore More Trades in Delaware
- Electrician in Delaware
- Plumber in Delaware
- HVAC Technician in Delaware
- Welder in Delaware
- Carpenter in Delaware
- Solar Installation Technician in Delaware
- Auto Mechanic in Delaware
- CNC Machinist in Delaware
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Delaware
- Medical Assistant in Delaware
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |