How to Become a Culinary Professional in Kentucky (2026)
Kentucky employs about 13,510 culinary professionals earning a median $34,640 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in Kentucky.
Compare Culinary Professional Schools in Kentucky
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College | 56.0 | Contact school for pricing | $41,507 | Not reported | Yes* | 82 mi |
| 2 | Madisonville Community College | 55.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,485 | 52% | Yes* | 122 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Elizabethtown Community and Technical College | 55.0 | $4,728 - $14,212 | $43,584 | 54% | Yes* | 30 mi |
| 4 | Maysville Community and Technical College | 52.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,970 | 54% | Yes* | 103 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Bluegrass Community and Technical College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $48,181 | Not reported | Yes* | 49 mi |
| 6 | Cincinnati State Technical and Community College | 50.7 | Contact school for pricing | $59,235 | 18% | Yes* | 106 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Oneida-Huntsville | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $41,875 | Not reported | — | 102 mi |
| 8 | Jefferson Community and Technical College | 49.7 | $4,808 - $14,457 | $50,106 | 33% | Yes* | 42 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Vincennes University | 48.2 | Contact school for pricing | $54,333 | 37% | Yes* | 136 mi |
| 10 | Somerset Community College | 47.1 | Contact school for pricing | $43,252 | 42% | Yes* | 61 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kentucky employs approximately 13,510 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $34,640 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in Kentucky, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Kentucky): $34,640 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in Kentucky
How to become a Culinary Professional in Kentucky? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in Kentucky.
How long does it take? culinary professional training length in Kentucky varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do culinary professionals earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Kentucky is $34,640 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $24,750 and experienced professionals can earn $43,750 or more 1.
How to Become a Culinary Professional in Kentucky
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Kentucky training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in Kentucky that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in Kentucky before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 13,300 | $37,665 | $37,071 | $27,874 | $48,064 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 6,750 | $37,144 | $37,867 | $28,706 | $50,642 |
| Lexington-Fayette | 2,870 | $37,771 | $37,198 | $28,311 | $50,138 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 1,340 | $31,889 | $32,781 | $23,377 | $41,870 |
| Clarksville | 1,120 | $36,709 | $35,846 | $24,323 | $44,063 |
| Bowling Green | 730 | $33,063 | $34,520 | $24,355 | $43,899 |
| Paducah | 530 | $32,220 | $33,816 | $27,338 | $40,326 |
| Owensboro | 470 | $31,134 | $33,502 | $24,190 | $39,889 |
| Elizabethtown | 370 | $30,120 | $31,580 | $23,470 | $37,270 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 13,510 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kentucky.
How much do culinary professionals earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Kentucky is $34,640, which is $2,190 below the national median of $36,830 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kentucky
Top local programs
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Ashland, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Bardstown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Berea, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Bowling Green, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Campbellsville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Covington, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Danville, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Elizabethtown, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Erlanger, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Florence, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Fort Thomas, Kentucky (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Frankfort, Kentucky (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kentucky
- Best HVAC Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kentucky
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kentucky
Explore More Trades in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- HVAC Technician in Kentucky
- Welder in Kentucky
- Carpenter in Kentucky
- Solar Installation Technician in Kentucky
- Auto Mechanic in Kentucky
- CNC Machinist in Kentucky
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kentucky
- Medical Assistant in Kentucky
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |