How to Become a Culinary Professional in Louisiana (2026)
Louisiana employs about 14,910 culinary professionals earning a median $29,050 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in Louisiana.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Louisiana): $29,050/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Louisiana: 14,910 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.85x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 14.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Culinary Professional Schools in Louisiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Copiah-Lincoln Community College | 63.6 | Contact school for pricing | $36,902 | 51% | Yes* | 94 mi |
| 2 | Louisiana Culinary Institute | 53.9 | Contact school for pricing | $36,043 | 81% | — | 55 mi |
| 3 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $40,042 | Not reported | Yes* | 118 mi |
| 4 | SOWELA Technical Community College | 49.8 | Contact school for pricing | $60,488 | Not reported | Yes* | 99 mi |
| 5 | New Orleans Culinary and Hospitality Institute | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 123 mi |
| 6 | Nunez Community College | 44.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,555 | 23% | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 7 | Baton Rouge Community College | 43.7 | Contact school for pricing | $45,313 | Not reported | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 8 | Lamar State College-Port Arthur | 42.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,272 | Not reported | — | 150 mi |
| 9 | Delgado Community College | 41.7 | Contact school for pricing | $48,141 | 23% | Yes* | 120 mi |
| 10 | Northshore Technical Community College | 41.6 | Contact school for pricing | $37,814 | Not reported | Yes* | 117 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Louisiana employs approximately 14,910 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $29,050 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in Louisiana, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Louisiana): $29,050 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in Louisiana
How to become a Culinary Professional in Louisiana? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in Louisiana.
How long does it take? culinary professional training length in Louisiana varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do culinary professionals earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Louisiana is $29,050 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $21,970 and experienced professionals can earn $39,540 or more 1.
How to Become a Culinary Professional in Louisiana
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Louisiana training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in Louisiana that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in Louisiana before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Orleans-Metairie | 6,080 | $32,015 | $35,448 | $24,641 | $48,893 |
| Baton Rouge | 3,160 | $31,078 | $32,965 | $22,480 | $44,864 |
| Lafayette | 1,880 | $29,093 | $30,547 | $22,651 | $40,583 |
| Shreveport-Bossier City | 1,580 | $29,714 | $31,351 | $23,101 | $40,830 |
| Slidell-Mandeville-Covington | 1,350 | $29,891 | $31,620 | $23,748 | $40,761 |
| Lake Charles | 1,070 | $30,085 | $32,118 | $23,719 | $41,379 |
| Monroe | 740 | $28,515 | $29,437 | $22,332 | $39,328 |
| Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux | 720 | $28,843 | $30,150 | $21,720 | $41,000 |
| Hammond | 580 | $28,363 | $29,916 | $22,498 | $39,165 |
| Alexandria | 500 | $29,437 | $32,265 | $23,167 | $44,049 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 14,910 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.
How much do culinary professionals earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Louisiana is $29,050, which is $7,780 below the national median of $36,830 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Louisiana
Top local programs
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Abbeville, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Alexandria, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Baker, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Bastrop, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Baton Rouge Metro, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Baton Rouge North, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Baton Rouge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Bogalusa, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Bossier City, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Broussard, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Central, Louisiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Louisiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Louisiana
Explore More Trades in Louisiana
- Electrician in Louisiana
- Plumber in Louisiana
- HVAC Technician in Louisiana
- Welder in Louisiana
- Carpenter in Louisiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
- Auto Mechanic in Louisiana
- CNC Machinist in Louisiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Louisiana
- Medical Assistant in Louisiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |