How to Become a Culinary Professional in Massachusetts (2026)
Massachusetts employs about 29,570 culinary professionals earning a median $45,600 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in Massachusetts.
Compare Culinary Professional Schools in Massachusetts
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Quinsigamond Community College | 58.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,076 | 21% | Yes* | 10 mi |
| 2 | Bunker Hill Community College | 55.2 | $6,168 - $14,899 | $56,376 | 16% | Yes* | 27 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Southeastern Technical Institute | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $48,037 | Not reported | — | 36 mi |
| 4 | Massasoit Community College | 53.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,288 | 21% | Yes* | 37 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Northern Essex Community College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,743 | 20% | Yes* | 42 mi |
| 6 | Bristol Community College | 49.8 | $5,832 - $12,168 | $48,840 | 22% | Yes* | 50 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Nashua Community College | 49.0 | Contact school for pricing | $54,792 | Not reported | Yes* | 31 mi |
| 8 | North Shore Community College | 46.7 | Contact school for pricing | $54,714 | 18% | — | 36 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Holyoke Community College | 43.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,724 | 31% | Yes* | 55 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Massachusetts employs approximately 29,570 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $45,600 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in Massachusetts, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Massachusetts): $45,600 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in Massachusetts
How to become a Culinary Professional in Massachusetts? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in Massachusetts.
How long does it take? culinary professional training length in Massachusetts varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do culinary professionals earn in Massachusetts? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Massachusetts is $45,600 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,540 and experienced professionals can earn $58,590 or more 1.
How to Become a Culinary Professional in Massachusetts
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Massachusetts training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in Massachusetts that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in Massachusetts before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in Massachusetts
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Massachusetts
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Massachusetts vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boston-Cambridge-Newton | 31,710 | $48,549 | $49,465 | $38,337 | $63,129 |
| Providence-Warwick | 10,900 | $41,523 | $44,508 | $33,557 | $56,722 |
| Worcester | 3,660 | $46,228 | $46,806 | $37,208 | $60,050 |
| Barnstable Town | 2,250 | $48,452 | $49,336 | $37,832 | $62,878 |
| Springfield | 2,070 | $42,980 | $45,403 | $35,969 | $58,733 |
| Pittsfield | 920 | $46,733 | $46,912 | $36,537 | $63,322 |
| Amherst Town-Northampton | 810 | $47,834 | $48,270 | $37,356 | $60,945 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in Massachusetts? Massachusetts currently employs approximately 29,570 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Massachusetts? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Massachusetts.
How much do culinary professionals earn in Massachusetts compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Massachusetts is $45,600, which is $8,770 above the national median of $36,830 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Massachusetts
Top local programs
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Attleboro, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Beverly, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Boston, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Brockton, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Cambridge, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Chelsea, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Chicopee, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Everett, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Fall River, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Fitchburg, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Gardner, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Gloucester, Massachusetts (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Massachusetts
- Best HVAC Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Massachusetts
- Best Plumbing Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Massachusetts
Explore More Trades in Massachusetts
- Electrician in Massachusetts
- Plumber in Massachusetts
- HVAC Technician in Massachusetts
- Welder in Massachusetts
- Carpenter in Massachusetts
- Solar Installation Technician in Massachusetts
- Auto Mechanic in Massachusetts
- CNC Machinist in Massachusetts
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Massachusetts
- Medical Assistant in Massachusetts
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |