How to Become a Culinary Professional in Nebraska (2026)
Nebraska employs about 4,750 culinary professionals earning a median $37,030 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in Nebraska.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Nebraska): $37,030/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Nebraska: 4,750 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.51x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 14.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Culinary Professional Schools in Nebraska
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flint Hills Technical College | 75.5 | Contact school for pricing | $52,442 | 68% | Yes* | 185 mi |
| 2 | Washburn Institute of Technology | 71.0 | Contact school for pricing | $56,774 | 66% | Yes* | 152 mi |
| 3 | Fort Hays Tech North Central | 60.9 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 122 mi |
| 4 | Western Iowa Tech Community College | 57.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,713 | 44% | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 5 | Southeast Community College Area | 55.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,277 | 36% | Yes* | 24 mi |
| 6 | Johnson County Community College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,956 | 30% | Yes* | 188 mi |
| 7 | Iowa Central Community College | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,682 | Not reported | Yes* | 175 mi |
| 8 | Des Moines Area Community College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,817 | 37% | Yes* | 181 mi |
| 9 | Iowa Western Community College | 48.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,139 | Not reported | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 10 | Metropolitan Community College Area | 46.7 | Contact school for pricing | $53,376 | 27% | Yes* | 56 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Nebraska employs approximately 4,750 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $37,030 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in Nebraska, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Nebraska): $37,030 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in Nebraska
How to become a Culinary Professional in Nebraska? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in Nebraska.
How long does it take? culinary professional training length in Nebraska varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do culinary professionals earn in Nebraska? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Nebraska is $37,030 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $28,680 and experienced professionals can earn $44,880 or more 1.
How to Become a Culinary Professional in Nebraska
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Nebraska training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in Nebraska that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in Nebraska before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Nebraska
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Nebraska vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 3,750 | $39,773 | $40,913 | $30,872 | $50,619 |
| Lincoln | 1,250 | $39,622 | $41,086 | $29,758 | $52,552 |
| Sioux City | 760 | $36,503 | $37,327 | $28,841 | $48,242 |
| Grand Island | 230 | $36,285 | $36,747 | $28,890 | $44,010 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in Nebraska? Nebraska currently employs approximately 4,750 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Nebraska? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nebraska.
How much do culinary professionals earn in Nebraska compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Nebraska is $37,030, which is $200 above the national median of $36,830 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Nebraska
Top local programs
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Beatrice, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Bellevue, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Columbus, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Fremont, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Grand Island, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Hastings, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Kearney, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in LA Vista, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Lexington, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Lincoln, Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Norfolk, Nebraska (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Nebraska
- Best HVAC Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Nebraska
- Best Plumbing Schools in Nebraska (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Nebraska
Explore More Trades in Nebraska
- Electrician in Nebraska
- Plumber in Nebraska
- HVAC Technician in Nebraska
- Welder in Nebraska
- Carpenter in Nebraska
- Solar Installation Technician in Nebraska
- Auto Mechanic in Nebraska
- CNC Machinist in Nebraska
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Nebraska
- Medical Assistant in Nebraska
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |