How to Become a Culinary Professional in North Carolina (2026)

North Carolina employs about 50,150 culinary professionals earning a median $35,400 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in North Carolina.

Compare Culinary Professional Schools in North Carolina

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
160.6Contact school for pricing$42,844Not reportedYes*34 mi
258.9Contact school for pricing$43,95250%Yes*25 mi
Sponsored Ad
355.3Contact school for pricing$49,034Not reportedYes*61 mi
452.6Contact school for pricing$48,441Not reportedYes*63 mi
Sponsored Ad
552.6Contact school for pricing$41,82465%Yes*9 mi
652.2Contact school for pricing$54,53051%64 mi
Sponsored Ad
750.9Contact school for pricing$41,411Not reportedYes*48 mi
849.8Contact school for pricing$57,86840%Yes*61 mi
Sponsored Ad
945.5Contact school for pricing$48,13822%Yes*54 mi
1035.2$2,320 - $20,529$44,92431%Yes*39 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

North Carolina employs approximately 50,150 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $35,400 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in North Carolina, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school or community college
  • Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
  • Median wage (North Carolina): $35,400 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in North Carolina

How to become a Culinary Professional in North Carolina? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in North Carolina.

How long does it take? culinary professional training length in North Carolina varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.

What do culinary professionals earn in North Carolina? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in North Carolina is $35,400 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $27,980 and experienced professionals can earn $45,450 or more 1.

How to Become a Culinary Professional in North Carolina

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most North Carolina training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in North Carolina that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in North Carolina before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina

Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia18,450$39,152$39,463$29,511$49,912
Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk9,920$37,188$37,596$29,753$46,159
Raleigh-Cary9,390$38,445$38,511$28,612$50,224
Greensboro-High Point4,110$36,283$36,082$28,591$47,689
Wilmington4,060$36,438$35,892$27,759$47,465
Durham-Chapel Hill3,400$38,398$38,399$29,725$49,769
Asheville3,330$38,609$38,982$29,125$49,751
Winston-Salem3,310$35,977$35,044$26,737$45,918
Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton1,760$32,744$34,827$28,322$45,226
Fayetteville1,510$33,952$33,853$26,239$41,479
Greenville1,070$36,001$35,207$27,673$45,739
Burlington980$34,793$35,080$27,163$45,552
Pinehurst-Southern Pines850$38,299$37,894$28,651$49,129
Jacksonville810$29,663$31,075$23,738$37,645
Rocky Mount790$32,398$34,132$25,858$44,188
Goldsboro520$33,193$33,007$27,031$39,286

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in North Carolina? North Carolina currently employs approximately 50,150 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Carolina.

How much do culinary professionals earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in North Carolina is $35,400, which is $1,430 below the national median of $36,830 according to BLS data 1.

In North Carolina

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in North Carolina

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)