How to Become a Culinary Professional in Oregon (2026)

Oregon employs about 21,550 culinary professionals earning a median $43,100 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in Oregon.

Compare Culinary Professional Schools in Oregon

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.6$5,593 - $15,708$46,93635%Yes*146 mi
265.5Contact school for pricingNot reported78%94 mi
Sponsored Ad
365.2$6,027 - $18,837Not reported43%Yes*152 mi
463.9$6,634 - $18,882$51,69942%Yes*146 mi
Sponsored Ad
563.1Contact school for pricing$49,33737%Yes*41 mi
659.0Contact school for pricing$50,18544%138 mi
Sponsored Ad
748.8Contact school for pricing$48,012Not reportedYes*146 mi
846.0Contact school for pricing$55,238Not reportedYes*30 mi
Sponsored Ad
938.9Contact school for pricing$59,13120%Yes*78 mi
1030.0Contact school for pricing$50,97425%88 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Oregon employs approximately 21,550 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $43,100 1. The state’s concentration of culinary professional jobs is 1.21x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in Oregon, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school or community college
  • Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
  • Median wage (Oregon): $43,100 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in Oregon

How to become a Culinary Professional in Oregon? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in Oregon.

How long does it take? culinary professional training length in Oregon varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.

What do culinary professionals earn in Oregon? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Oregon is $43,100 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $36,080 and experienced professionals can earn $58,280 or more 1.

How to Become a Culinary Professional in Oregon

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Oregon training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in Oregon that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in Oregon before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in Oregon

Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Oregon

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Oregon vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro17,120$46,832$47,888$38,024$63,902
Eugene-Springfield2,310$40,358$43,028$34,985$53,689
Salem2,160$41,235$43,614$32,955$52,889
Bend2,060$45,166$45,996$36,471$58,418
Medford1,300$41,168$43,699$34,563$57,661
Corvallis610$41,133$43,661$33,364$53,840
Albany440$39,330$41,323$31,313$50,078
Grants Pass340$38,895$41,964$34,396$53,863

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in Oregon? Oregon currently employs approximately 21,550 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Oregon? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oregon.

How much do culinary professionals earn in Oregon compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Oregon is $43,100, which is $6,270 above the national median of $36,830 according to BLS data 1.

In Oregon

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Oregon

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)