How to Become a Culinary Professional in Pennsylvania (2026)

Pennsylvania employs about 54,100 culinary professionals earning a median $36,580 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in Pennsylvania.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Pennsylvania): $36,580/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Pennsylvania: 54,100 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.98x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 14.9% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Culinary Professional Schools in Pennsylvania

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.8Contact school for pricing$66,316Not reportedYes*60 mi
271.1Contact school for pricing$54,05836%Yes*68 mi
371.1$4,752 - $11,522$45,61237%Yes*85 mi
466.8Contact school for pricing$40,19243%Yes*30 mi
555.5Contact school for pricing$42,52772%76 mi
650.1$6,930 - $15,540$56,64722%Yes*87 mi
747.7Contact school for pricing$50,125Not reportedYes*73 mi
844.8Contact school for pricingNot reported70%52 mi
943.0Contact school for pricing$49,521Not reportedYes*76 mi
1037.7Contact school for pricing$47,13666%83 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Pennsylvania employs approximately 54,100 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,580 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in Pennsylvania, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school or community college
  • Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
  • Median wage (Pennsylvania): $36,580 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in Pennsylvania

How to become a Culinary Professional in Pennsylvania? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in Pennsylvania.

How long does it take? culinary professional training length in Pennsylvania varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.

What do culinary professionals earn in Pennsylvania? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Pennsylvania is $36,580 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $22,650 and experienced professionals can earn $45,120 or more 1.

How to Become a Culinary Professional in Pennsylvania

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Pennsylvania training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in Pennsylvania that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in Pennsylvania before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania

Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Pennsylvania

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Pennsylvania vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington34,330$42,757$44,373$31,888$57,143
Pittsburgh16,600$38,472$37,208$23,907$48,316
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton4,390$40,548$41,423$29,326$53,425
Lancaster3,420$38,173$38,497$25,864$50,712
Harrisburg-Carlisle3,360$39,183$39,607$27,659$52,638
Scranton--Wilkes-Barre3,260$38,715$38,316$24,205$53,016
York-Hanover2,100$37,759$38,488$28,347$49,619
Reading1,990$39,235$38,366$25,332$51,467
Erie1,750$35,112$34,639$23,619$44,012
State College940$38,598$38,426$25,576$49,808
Chambersburg750$40,047$37,682$24,148$46,862
Lebanon720$37,898$37,953$26,156$49,589
Altoona690$35,158$34,296$23,080$43,034
Williamsport670$34,641$35,817$23,999$46,206
Johnstown600$33,002$34,564$23,140$43,848
Gettysburg480$36,921$36,830$24,506$48,305

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in Pennsylvania? Pennsylvania currently employs approximately 54,100 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Pennsylvania? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Pennsylvania.

How much do culinary professionals earn in Pennsylvania compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Pennsylvania is $36,580, which is $250 below the national median of $36,830 according to BLS data 1.

In Pennsylvania

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Pennsylvania

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)