How to Become a Culinary Professional in Tennessee (2026)

Tennessee employs about 28,220 culinary professionals earning a median $36,420 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in Tennessee.

Compare Culinary Professional Schools in Tennessee

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
156.9Contact school for pricing$43,11049%Yes*118 mi
256.6Contact school for pricing$43,163Not reportedYes*104 mi
Sponsored Ad
356.0Contact school for pricing$41,507Not reportedYes*97 mi
455.9Contact school for pricing$54,48552%Yes*112 mi
Sponsored Ad
552.6$5,220 - $19,008$50,27650%Yes*119 mi
639.5Contact school for pricing$48,592Not reportedYes*36 mi
Sponsored Ad
728.9Contact school for pricing$52,16012%79 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Tennessee employs approximately 28,220 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,420 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in Tennessee, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school or community college
  • Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
  • Median wage (Tennessee): $36,420 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in Tennessee

How to become a Culinary Professional in Tennessee? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in Tennessee.

How long does it take? culinary professional training length in Tennessee varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.

What do culinary professionals earn in Tennessee? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Tennessee is $36,420 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $27,910 and experienced professionals can earn $45,650 or more 1.

How to Become a Culinary Professional in Tennessee

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Tennessee training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in Tennessee that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in Tennessee before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in Tennessee

Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Tennessee

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Tennessee vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin13,870$41,917$43,222$32,122$54,622
Memphis5,980$38,724$38,225$27,992$48,844
Knoxville4,900$38,461$38,574$28,598$50,331
Chattanooga3,560$39,268$38,342$26,847$50,791
Kingsport-Bristol1,300$35,297$35,009$26,481$44,662
Clarksville1,120$36,709$35,846$24,323$44,063
Johnson City1,080$36,247$35,314$26,076$46,219
Jackson680$38,307$37,513$27,510$49,094
Cleveland520$34,978$34,778$26,527$44,182
Morristown420$36,367$35,405$25,591$45,499

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in Tennessee? Tennessee currently employs approximately 28,220 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Tennessee? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Tennessee.

How much do culinary professionals earn in Tennessee compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Tennessee is $36,420, which is $410 below the national median of $36,830 according to BLS data 1.

In Tennessee

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Tennessee

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)