How to Become a Culinary Professional in Wyoming (2026)
Wyoming employs about 2,710 culinary professionals earning a median $36,830 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most culinary professionals train through an approved program before entering the field in Wyoming.
Compare Culinary Professional Schools in Wyoming
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bridgerland Technical College | 73.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,070 | Not reported | Yes* | 264 mi |
| 2 | Laramie County Community College | 67.1 | Contact school for pricing | $49,818 | Not reported | Yes* | 135 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Red Rocks Community College | 64.2 | Contact school for pricing | $62,695 | 35% | Yes* | 203 mi |
| 4 | Northern Wyoming Community College District | 60.3 | Contact school for pricing | $51,958 | Not reported | Yes* | 167 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Uintah Basin Technical College | 59.7 | Contact school for pricing | $64,652 | 89% | — | 220 mi |
| 6 | Colorado Mesa University | 56.7 | Contact school for pricing | $58,601 | 41% | Yes* | 247 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Pickens Technical College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $44,693 | 68% | — | 211 mi |
| 8 | Colorado Mountain College | 52.3 | $2,616 - $14,799 | $55,406 | 27% | Yes* | 198 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Central Wyoming College | 48.5 | Contact school for pricing | $43,068 | Not reported | Yes* | 95 mi |
| 10 | Auguste Escoffier School of Culinary Arts-Boulder | 37.4 | Contact school for pricing | $36,127 | 47% | — | 184 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Wyoming employs approximately 2,710 culinary professionals according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,830 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034, with about 250,700 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Culinary Professional in Wyoming, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school or community college
- Typical timeline: varies by program; confirm with the school
- Median wage (Wyoming): $36,830 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Culinary Professional in Wyoming
How to become a Culinary Professional in Wyoming? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for culinary professionals in Wyoming.
How long does it take? culinary professional training length in Wyoming varies by program. Confirm current requirements with the school and the state board before you enroll.
What do culinary professionals earn in Wyoming? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Wyoming is $36,830 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $27,850 and experienced professionals can earn $52,530 or more 1.
How to Become a Culinary Professional in Wyoming
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Wyoming training programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete an approved training program. Enroll in an approved culinary professional program in Wyoming that combines classroom instruction with supervised practice.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to culinary professionals in Wyoming before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Culinary Professional Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
Chefs and Head Cooks Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), chefs and head cooks wages in Wyoming vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood | 6,400 | $39,498 | $40,252 | $31,521 | $50,165 |
| Casper | 420 | $35,444 | $36,067 | $28,482 | $46,171 |
| Cheyenne | 400 | $35,523 | $36,878 | $28,428 | $49,243 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for culinary professionals in Wyoming? Wyoming currently employs approximately 2,710 culinary professionals 1. Nationally, culinary professional employment is projected to grow 14.9% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Wyoming? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Wyoming.
How much do culinary professionals earn in Wyoming compared to the national average? The median annual wage for culinary professionals in Wyoming is $36,830, which matches the national median according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Wyoming
Top local programs
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Casper, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Cheyenne, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Evanston, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Gillette, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Green River, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Jackson, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Laramie, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Riverton, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Rock Springs, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Sheridan, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Culinary & Pastry Schools in Wyoming (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Wyoming
- Best HVAC Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Wyoming
- Best Plumbing Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Wyoming
Explore More Trades in Wyoming
- Electrician in Wyoming
- Plumber in Wyoming
- HVAC Technician in Wyoming
- Welder in Wyoming
- Carpenter in Wyoming
- Solar Installation Technician in Wyoming
- Auto Mechanic in Wyoming
- CNC Machinist in Wyoming
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Wyoming
- Medical Assistant in Wyoming
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |