How to Become a Dental Assistant in California (2026)

California employs about 56,220 dental assistants earning a median $50,110 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires, then applying through Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California.

Compare Dental Assistant Schools in California

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
168.8Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported65 mi
255.3Contact school for pricing$55,20227%Yes*61 mi
Sponsored Ad
354.5Contact school for pricing$49,13733%90 mi
446.3Contact school for pricing$44,55528%Yes*20 mi
Sponsored Ad
545.6Contact school for pricing$44,04572%93 mi
645.3Contact school for pricing$42,21135%Yes*63 mi
Sponsored Ad
741.6$1,334 - $16,881$42,64442%81 mi
841.3Contact school for pricing$46,88524%94 mi
Sponsored Ad
939.0Contact school for pricing$42,21152%26 mi
1038.6Contact school for pricing$35,94367%94 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

California employs approximately 56,220 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $50,110 1. The state’s concentration of dental assistant jobs is 1.24x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in California, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in California

How to become a Dental Assistant in California? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Apply through Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California.

How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California.

Do I need a license in California? Yes. California credentials this role through Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California 3. See the licensing section below.

What do dental assistants earn in California? The median annual wage for dental assistants in California is $50,110 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,790 and experienced professionals can earn $73,700 or more 1.

How to Become a Dental Assistant in California

  1. Meet basic requirements. Most California dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California.
  2. Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in California. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California.
  4. Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Dental Assistant License Requirements in California

Dental assistants in California typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California requires. See Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet the program’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.

  3. Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.

  4. Apply to Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California when registration or licensure is required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California before you enroll.

Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in California

Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in California

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in California vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim21,090$46,900$49,040$38,050$58,900
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont7,530$64,390$64,900$47,800$80,660
Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario5,240$48,500$51,460$40,210$58,590
San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad4,260$58,120$53,990$38,700$63,070
Sacramento-Roseville-Folsom3,100$58,580$57,840$45,830$70,630
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara2,870$74,600$71,150$55,670$81,710
Fresno1,360$50,040$52,950$45,160$60,190
Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura1,250$58,930$55,210$37,000$62,000
Bakersfield-Delano990$48,100$51,190$37,110$69,640
Modesto890$50,170$53,130$38,400$62,460
Stockton-Lodi780$49,090$53,570$40,690$66,460
Santa Rosa-Petaluma680$60,590$62,500$46,160$78,240
Vallejo630$59,000$61,120$45,400$77,300
Santa Maria-Santa Barbara610$51,310$54,120$44,410$64,250
Salinas570$56,790$55,700$42,770$70,920
Visalia480$46,630$49,960$43,680$59,910
San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles440$57,150$55,320$44,510$63,500
Santa Cruz-Watsonville370$58,580$58,970$49,170$72,800
Chico290$48,170$52,260$38,560$60,960
Merced250$48,520$52,050$45,270$60,320
Redding240$48,490$51,890$40,390$60,580
Yuba City240$50,030$52,640$39,230$61,710
Napa230$60,270$59,570$47,280$74,760
Hanford-Corcoran200$49,980$57,500$44,250$86,870
El Centro130$56,050$56,840$43,120$79,620

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for dental assistants in California? California currently employs approximately 56,220 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a dental assistant in California with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in California? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in California.

How much do dental assistants earn in California compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in California is $50,110, which is $2,810 above the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.

In California

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in California

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Department of Consumer Affairs - Dental Board of California - Licensing Information: https://www.dbc.ca.gov/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)