How to Become a Dental Assistant in Illinois (2026)

Illinois employs about 13,740 dental assistants earning a median $48,610 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Compare Dental Assistant Schools in Illinois

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
164.8Contact school for pricing$45,74145%Yes*76 mi
259.2Contact school for pricing$56,704Not reportedYes*87 mi
Sponsored Ad
358.3$4,200 - $16,385$48,98943%Yes*22 mi
451.7$5,550 - $16,727$48,94253%Yes*33 mi
Sponsored Ad
550.2Contact school for pricing$54,22041%77 mi
650.0Contact school for pricing$55,058Not reportedYes*36 mi
Sponsored Ad
747.7Contact school for pricing$55,98425%73 mi
847.7Contact school for pricing$50,64720%Yes*77 mi
Sponsored Ad
944.8Contact school for pricing$37,799Not reportedYes*86 mi
1042.1Contact school for pricing$36,025Not reported88 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Illinois employs approximately 13,740 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,610 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in Illinois, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
  • Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
  • Median wage (Illinois): $48,610 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in Illinois

How to become a Dental Assistant in Illinois? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Illinois? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do dental assistants earn in Illinois? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Illinois is $48,610 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,360 and experienced professionals can earn $59,910 or more 1.

How to Become a Dental Assistant in Illinois

  1. Meet basic requirements. Most Illinois dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with the employer.
  2. Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in Illinois. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with the employer.
  4. Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Dental Assistant License Requirements in Illinois

Dental assistants in Illinois typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit the employer requires.

Typical path

  1. Meet the program’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.

  3. Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.

  4. Apply to the employer when registration or licensure is required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.

Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Illinois

Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Illinois

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in Illinois vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Chicago-Naperville-Elgin10,490$48,950$50,370$38,950$61,150
St. Louis2,990$48,120$49,660$37,780$60,530
Rockford530$45,970$45,660$36,460$58,560
Davenport-Moline-Rock Island380$47,410$49,760$38,880$59,900
Springfield360$45,390$46,080$35,250$59,630
Peoria300$47,280$45,930$36,730$58,500
Paducah190$46,750$47,700$35,020$59,260
Champaign-Urbana180$47,120$47,680$37,090$59,240
Cape Girardeau150$44,370$43,710$35,200$55,830
Bloomington140$46,390$46,680$35,160$57,870
Decatur60$47,770$47,680$37,670$59,290
Kankakee60$45,610$46,450$36,690$56,700

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for dental assistants in Illinois? Illinois currently employs approximately 13,740 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a dental assistant in Illinois with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.

What training programs are available in Illinois? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Illinois.

How much do dental assistants earn in Illinois compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Illinois is $48,610, which is $1,310 above the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.

In Illinois

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Illinois

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)