How to Become a Dental Assistant in Iowa (2026)

Iowa employs about 3,210 dental assistants earning a median $48,430 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires, then applying through Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Iowa): $48,430/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Iowa: 3,210 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.83x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 6.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
  • Licensing/credentialing body: Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Dental Assistant Schools in Iowa

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
165.2Contact school for pricing$50,75760%Yes*139 mi
260.0Contact school for pricing$52,00334%Yes*128 mi
359.9Contact school for pricing$52,110Not reportedYes*34 mi
456.6$6,780 - $17,838$50,00250%Yes*88 mi
556.3Contact school for pricing$48,663Not reportedYes*90 mi
656.2Contact school for pricing$53,11436%Yes*141 mi
756.1Contact school for pricing$50,322Not reportedYes*105 mi
854.6Contact school for pricing$49,16338%Yes*48 mi
954.0Contact school for pricing$46,682Not reportedYes*48 mi
1050.7Contact school for pricing$55,25827%Yes*119 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Iowa employs approximately 3,210 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,430 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in Iowa

How to become a Dental Assistant in Iowa? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Apply through Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners.

How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners.

Do I need a license in Iowa? Yes. Iowa credentials this role through Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners 3. See the licensing section below.

What do dental assistants earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Iowa is $48,430 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $39,360 and experienced professionals can earn $59,580 or more 1.

How to Become a Dental Assistant in Iowa

  1. Meet basic requirements. Most Iowa dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners.
  2. Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in Iowa. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners.
  4. Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Dental Assistant License Requirements in Iowa

Dental assistants in Iowa typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners requires. See Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet the program’s entry rules.

  2. Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.

  3. Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.

  4. Apply to Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners when registration or licensure is required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners before you enroll.

Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Iowa

Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Iowa

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in Iowa vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Omaha1,150$48,020$48,260$39,720$59,570
Des Moines-West Des Moines660$50,020$52,570$44,810$59,990
Davenport-Moline-Rock Island380$47,410$49,760$38,880$59,900
Cedar Rapids370$48,310$51,110$39,380$59,860
Iowa City280$49,230$52,290$39,950$58,850
Sioux City190$48,590$51,060$39,530$59,660
Waterloo-Cedar Falls170$47,970$50,510$38,150$59,360
Dubuque160$47,850$49,640$38,660$58,560
Ames110$49,140$51,500$45,490$60,270

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for dental assistants in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 3,210 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a dental assistant in Iowa with an out-of-state license? Contact the Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.

How much do dental assistants earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Iowa is $48,430, which is $1,130 above the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.

In Iowa

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Iowa

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Iowa Department of Public Health - Iowa Board of Dental Examiners - Licensing Information: https://dentalboard.iowa.gov/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)