How to Become a Dental Assistant in Louisiana (2026)
Louisiana employs about 4,540 dental assistants earning a median $44,090 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Dental Assistant here means completing a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Louisiana): $44,090/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Louisiana: 4,540 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.94x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 6.4% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Dental Assistant Schools in Louisiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Hinds Community College | 53.6 | Contact school for pricing | $40,042 | Not reported | Yes* | 118 mi |
| 2 | Delta College of Arts & Technology-Lafayette Campus | 38.3 | Contact school for pricing | $35,243 | 59% | — | 59 mi |
| 3 | Delta College Inc | 37.4 | Contact school for pricing | $32,032 | Not reported | — | 105 mi |
| 4 | Delta College of Arts & Technology | 36.8 | Contact school for pricing | $35,243 | Not reported | — | 52 mi |
| 5 | Unitech Training Academy-Lafayette | 35.5 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 59% | Yes* | 59 mi |
| 6 | Medical Training College | 32.7 | Contact school for pricing | $29,675 | Not reported | — | 56 mi |
| 7 | Unitech Training Academy-Houma | 31.6 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 65% | — | 112 mi |
| 8 | Unitech Training Academy-Alexandria | 28.0 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 61% | — | 46 mi |
| 9 | Blue Cliff College-Metairie | 27.2 | Contact school for pricing | $26,644 | 48% | — | 116 mi |
| 10 | Unitech Training Academy-Baton Rouge | 22.8 | Contact school for pricing | $27,850 | 53% | — | 57 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Louisiana employs approximately 4,540 dental assistants according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,090 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Dental Assistant in Louisiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: dental assisting program or on-the-job training where the state allows it (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires
- Exam: DANB CDA and/or state RDA or radiography permit
- Median wage (Louisiana): $44,090 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Dental Assistant in Louisiana
How to become a Dental Assistant in Louisiana? Complete a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short dental assisting program or on-the-job training where allowed, then DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit the board requires. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Louisiana? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do dental assistants earn in Louisiana? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Louisiana is $44,090 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,050 and experienced professionals can earn $49,640 or more 1.
How to Become a Dental Assistant in Louisiana
- Meet basic requirements. Most Louisiana dental assisting programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Confirm age and background rules with the employer.
- Complete a dental assisting program or on-the-job training if the state allows it. Finish a certificate (often under a year) or associate program in Louisiana. Prefer a CODA-accredited program. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CDA and any state assistant credential. DANB CDA is the national exam. Some states also require RDA, a radiography permit, or expanded-functions (EFDA). Confirm current permits with the employer.
- Apply to the state dental board when registration is required. Some states register assistants; others only permit X-ray or expanded duties; some allow OJT with no statewide license. Do not treat a hygienist or dentist license as the assistant path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Dental Assistant License Requirements in Louisiana
Dental assistants in Louisiana typically complete a short program or on-the-job training where allowed, then earn DANB CDA and any RDA or radiography permit the employer requires.
Typical path
Meet the program’s entry rules.
Complete a dental assisting program or OJT if the state allows it.
Earn DANB CDA and any state RDA or radiography permit.
Apply to the employer when registration or licensure is required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Dental Assistant Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Dental Assistants Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), dental assistants wages in Louisiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baton Rouge | 950 | $44,800 | $41,650 | $36,040 | $48,540 |
| New Orleans-Metairie | 760 | $45,920 | $44,760 | $36,400 | $52,190 |
| Lafayette | 620 | $44,940 | $45,260 | $32,130 | $79,070 |
| Shreveport-Bossier City | 410 | $38,950 | $41,510 | $31,200 | $48,300 |
| Slidell-Mandeville-Covington | 370 | $45,020 | $44,440 | $35,770 | $55,210 |
| Monroe | 310 | $37,020 | $39,330 | $29,700 | $46,040 |
| Lake Charles | 220 | $40,200 | $40,560 | $29,400 | $49,190 |
| Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux | 210 | $37,870 | $41,640 | $30,490 | $47,940 |
| Alexandria | 120 | $43,270 | $41,800 | $29,880 | $47,940 |
| Hammond | 100 | $45,950 | $45,990 | $34,340 | $71,240 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for dental assistants in Louisiana? Louisiana currently employs approximately 4,540 dental assistants 1. Nationally, dental assistant employment is projected to grow 6.4% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a dental assistant in Louisiana with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana.
How much do dental assistants earn in Louisiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for dental assistants in Louisiana is $44,090, which is $3,210 below the national median of $47,300 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Louisiana
Top local programs
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Abbeville, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Alexandria, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Baker, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bastrop, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Baton Rouge Metro, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Baton Rouge North, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Baton Rouge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bogalusa, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Bossier City, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Broussard, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Dental Assistant Programs in Central, Louisiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Louisiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Louisiana
Explore More Trades in Louisiana
- Electrician in Louisiana
- Plumber in Louisiana
- HVAC Technician in Louisiana
- Welder in Louisiana
- Carpenter in Louisiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
- Auto Mechanic in Louisiana
- CNC Machinist in Louisiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Louisiana
- Medical Assistant in Louisiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |